Why Illustration is Important in 3d Modeling

in #art6 years ago (edited)

As I have been developing my craft over the years I have found illustration to be the backbone of almost all traditional arts. Sculpting, painting, drawing, and 3d modeling. 3d modeling has been around for more than 30 years so it is not considered a traditional art such as the the big 3.

I have developed all of the traditional and 3d modeling skills to a medium level in my life. I have had times where I was really working something and achieved high level results, but overall I rest in the middle.

This is not even speaking of design elements. This is strictly skill based.

I have found out of all the traditional arts that drawing is the most difficult. Being able to render a 3d object in 2d space is uncanny. Most people can not do this accurately. Drawing from your own design is another world compared to copy work.

If you can illustrate well with no reference you will be a very skilled artist. Painting is different yet, you do have to construct the painting's many lines. Then color it in. Having a strong 3d mindset is a must when sculpting. Same as in 3d Modeling.

I have found over the years that my ability to illustrate well has lead to my 3d sculpting skills to almost appear instantly. I was able to concept 3d space as if I it was easy.

I have been modeling in 3d software packages for years, and never really pushed a model to see how detailed, or even real I could make it.

But as soon as I started modeling I was able to make fairly accurate 3d sculptures.

When I started modeling in clay it was like I didn't even have to learn. It was already natural. I am not saying I made something godly when I started but, I had no real problems rendering a symmetrical, detailed and accurate piece.

I credit this almost instant understanding to my illustration skills. That is what I felt guiding me.

If you rest on one talent you will develop applicable skills.

I feel drawing is a must to achieve high level art.

resume_drawings2_01.jpg

Patriarch alien small.jpg

painting.jpg

test7.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66671.81
ETH 3087.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68