Digital Painting Process - Jorah the Andal

in #art6 years ago

How to paint a digital portrait of Jorah Mormont

Stage 1

I used a reference photo from a paused frame, and began by doing a rough sketch.

Stage 2

I begin the painting process by blocking in the main skin color

Stage 3

Basic shadows and highlights are defined. I use the burn and dodge tool to roughly establish the light and dark areas. I also add some varying hues to the skin and block in the main hair color

Stage 4

Further defining shadows and highlights. In this picture, there is some heavy backlighting, so the front of the face is quite shaded. I use the burn and dodge tool again with some Paintbrush also to further define these shapes and give volume to the face and armor

Stage 5

A little bit of Levels corrections before using the Paintbrush to smoothen out the colors. I add purples, blues and greens to give life to the skin. I alternate between the Paintbrush and the color picker tool to choose intermediary colors while color blending.

Stage 6 - Final Result

Some final color correction and a little bit of highlights around the edges and I'm done.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 195!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


This is phenomenal!

thank you🙏🏽

I do a series called Game Of Coins, a crypto parody of all-things Westeros... If I captioned Sir Jorah maybe I would have him asking Kahleesi about Dothraki coin being worthless at the Iron Bank of Braavos...

Game Of Coins.jpg

Glad you rendered this in GRAYSCALE as well as in COLOR!!! (ftw!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85