Art from the children & nectar from the banana flower

in #art2 years ago

IMG_1510.jpeg

We bought this school desk recently and I must say it is probably one of the best investments a person could make for their children. They absolutely love sitting here, working on whatever it is they are working on. I suppose because it relates in a certain way to their experience with school, yet it sits here in our living room where they can do anything they want at it.

IMG_1508.jpeg

Luna in particular has come to life in recent months at this desk, creating princess after princess. With a few mermaids thrown in there too ;)

IMG_1370.jpeg

So really I just wanted to share some Luna art with you now. Here is one she stuck on the kitchen wall. Love the pregnant lady in the middle.

IMG_1372.jpeg

She likes to glue little bits to the paper sometimes.

IMG_1374.jpeg

Seen better here.

IMG_1522.jpeg

Princesses are definitely on her mind a lot these days!

IMG_1537.jpeg

I blame myself for thoughtlessly introducing her to the film Frozen, which has deeply affected her.

IMG_1507.jpeg

Still, I suppose it could be worse!

IMG_1523.jpeg

Concentrating hard for the stars here.

IMG_1527.jpeg

Esteban was recently introduced to paint by numbers so created his own version for Sabrina & Luna who completed it with pleasure.

IMG_1365.jpeg

Yeah, he's like that.

Screenshot 2022-01-18 at 18.03.16.png

The other thing I wanted to tell you about was the banana tree and its wonderful flower!

We were going to eat it for Christmas but spared it in the end and in return it has been gifting us with the most amazing sugary nectar which drips each day from the flower.

flower.jpg

Here you can see where it drops to the ground, pure sugar going to waste!

IMG_1410.jpeg

I had no idea till now that banana flowers even produced sugar! Presumably they only do this when it is cold?

flower 2.jpg

Anyway, who cares for the reason, it's happening and it tastes great! So I must collect it.

IMG_1421.jpeg

With the assistance of a cat ;)

IMG_1412.jpeg

My first thought was to attach this catching device to the underside of the flower. Works good when there is no wind.

IMG_1417.jpeg

But this turned out to be too slow for me (with too many windy days!) and in the end I just scraped it directly off the flower with a knife.

IMG_1530.jpeg

If I am keen I can collect around this quantity every few days, which isn't all that much but imagine what you could do with a forest of banana trees. Home grown sugar on tap throughout the winter. Even in France!

Here we are walking home yesterday with our garden harvest in hand. You can just about make out the rest of my family up ahead of me, two cats included.

IMG_1540.jpeg

Finally I leave you with one I snapped this morning when opening the shutters of the children's bedroom. A full moon setting across the valley.

IMG_1545.jpeg

Looks dreamy hey.

Love & Light everyone 🥬

Don't forget to do your Mudra 🌕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84