Drawing Books

in #art5 years ago

Books

Last time I was talking about learning but I also want to talk about drawing or art books. I got plenty of them because I like to collect them from thrift shops. Well if I'm in one I always go searching for some cool books. Not that I'm a reader or bookwurm (I got terrible concentration) but I just like having them like it gives some kind of magical powers I guess. They are far from expensive so it makes it even better. I also have some more expensive books I treasure and will talk about one (and maybe more in other blogs) I can really recommend.

I still hope to find some Giger books but still haven't. I got a few from Escher and found many of them but after a few you already got all his images.

Inspiration

Once in a while I open one and gives me inspiration and ideas or I try to learn something by looking at pictures. Or if I want to know something I often got the book somewhere. Also when I have a creative block it's good to look through them.

I have a terrible memory but my graphic memory is insane. I can find stuff back instantly in my house if it is chaos. If someone moves it I'm lost but everything seems to be stored as images in my memory.

Below is a picture of some dutch books about cartoon, anatomy and perspective I took with me last year. Maybe for a few euro max per book instead of 10 or 20 euro. Maybe not the best books but having different views from artists is better then just 1.

booksfromsecondhandstore.jpg

I also have books about animation because I was an animator in the past. Back then I was so into learning that I think read them all ( mostly images :P )

Color and Light

One book I could really recommend (maybe interesting for you @veryspider?) and is worth the money is the book from James Gurney. The book called "Color and Light" here is a link: http://jamesgurney.com/site/213/color-and-light-a-guide-for-the-realist-painter

I think it's about 25 dollar but it is full of information about colors shading and many examples of paintings. Just by reading the book you learn so much about atmosphere, different color combinations, different lightnings etc. When reading I was like damn I wish I had this book ten years ago. It has over 300 colored illustrations and is also interesting if you don't work with traditional medium. I think it got all the information you need to know about color and light.

this is his youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/gurneyjourney so you can see his skills :)

Maybe you have that book already? If so let me know what you think?

Well I hope you like the read and maybe motivated you or gave you inspiration.

:D

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

oh and greetings from Whiley Wiggleface who is having a hard time now with the terrible weather...

wiley-wiggleface.jpg

Sort:  

awawah, what great recommendations :D i'd definitely check them out, thank you for the tip, Sander <3

And poor Mr Whiley Wiggleface... I hope he finds some reprieve from the terrible weather soon ; __ ;

Do you have a thrift store somewhere? You could find treasures there :)
You should that color and light book is a must have ;)

I hope so it's really hard to keep his wiggling in control... :|

It's always good to have art and inspirational books around you. I have to make sure I don't look at any of mine until after I get my 'work' part of my studio time done, or else it will be hours later, empty coffee pot and the rest of my day gone. I usually use it as a 'reward' too for me :)

Yes it is also good to pick them up if you're to tired to create. But I can relate that it could waste the time needed for the work that has to be done :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yes, we need a lot of inspiration when we do art. My problem is that I go blank when it comes to creating. But luckily, when I get inspired I really do something good!

Posted using Partiko Android

A small sketchbook could help to draw ideas that pop up so you can use them when you have the time to create art :)

Hello @sanderjansenart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28