Skeuomorphism - Which is REAL?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Look very VERY closely at the following photo.

One is an image of an Apple watch... but believe it or not, one is a vector based graphic design that I created in Adobe Illustrator.

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 4.29.19 PM.png

Can you tell which is which? Photo-realism is a very intricate style that requires a LOT of detail. Despite the amount of time this took me to complete, I loved the process and gained a much better understanding of creating highlights and shadows and using clipping masks in Adobe Illustrator because of this challenging experience.

Still don't believe me?
Here is my "outline preview" in Adobe Illustrator.
Doesn't look like much, but it consists of lots of layering, clipping masks, and gradients (which took me a while to get the hang of).

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.23.32 PM.png

Just to add a little more value to my final product, I'd like to show you some of my process.

Here are some of my sketches. My goal with the sketches was to fully understand the makeup of the Apple watch so that I knew exactly how every curve and line was meant to be when I started designing the watch digitally.

fullsizerender-1.jpeg

The following image was my first draft. I honestly felt so proud of my progress at this point, but looking back on it, I had so much work left to do! At this point in the project, my graphic was still obviously in the "graphic" phase and nowhere near photo-realistic. I mean, just look at that knob on the top right! Makes me cringe a little bit.

12871500_1082194168493863_6012572309543934863_n-1.jpeg

But after much critique, adjustments, and TIME, I reached this final product:

screen-shot-2016-06-02-at-4-17-33-pm-1.png

I am SO happy with how this turned out and I cannot even express to you how much I learned through this process! I challenge EVERY designer to tackle the challenge of "Skeuomorphism" or "photo-realism" because I guarantee you will learn more than you expect.

I hope you enjoyed my design! It was originally published on my website at:
http://www.sarahjanele.com/vector-watch-photo-realism/

Follow along, upvote, and comment to stay connected as I share more meaningful content for all visual communicators.

Sort:  

I am SO happy with how this turned out and I cannot even express to you how much I learned through this process!

And I am really happy you shared your experience with the Steemit community. Thank you for your fine work. Resteemed.

Thank you so much for your kind words! I really appreciate it. And the resteem :)

Awesome job love to have some tuto for some metal inscrut into some writting when have the time , definitly thanks you i wll progress a lot
followed and uptvoted dear miss sarah
bow his head gently

Thanks so much for the comment! Look forward to seeing your progress!

Your work is impeccable! I could not tell which one was real or not.

Thank you so much!! I worked many hours to get it where it is!

I was going to ask if gthe one on the left was the drawing as there's banding in the band. That's amazing!

Yep, you're right! The band was seriously the hardest part of the whole thing... couldn't get that gradient as smooth as I wanted it to be!! Thanks for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71452.56
ETH 3843.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44