Pixel art knight (game art)

in #art6 years ago

If you remember, I shared a WIP version of this some time ago. Even if it may still change in the future, I feel like it's finished enough right now to consider it a 1.0 version (or maybe a beta version, if this was software XD).

As I said the other time, I'm a programmer that is just beginning in pixel art as part of a hobby project, so I'd love any feedback I can get :)

In this post I'm going to share some gifs of the different walk animations of the knight (front, back and left). I still have to do the right one but it should be easy enough by flipping the left one and reordering the layers.

Also, I promise I will do a blog post on how I did this soon. I'm not sure if it will be kind of a guide/tutorial, or a more relaxed "me telling a story" with some tips and conclusions.

For now, here's the art:
Front
front_gif.gif

Back
back_gif.gif

Left
left_gif.gif

Software used:

  • Aseprite for editing & running the animations
  • Windows 10 video recording in game mode for recording
  • https://ezgif.com for cropping, optimizing and converting to gif

I hope you like it :) I'm out of energy for today but I really wanted to share this, sorry for not making the guide yet ^^"

Sort:  

Haha that's great. You should try making a simple game. I've been checking out phaser js recently, it makes it very easy to create a simple interactive game.

Oh, I just read that you're a game dev :)

Hehe, yes, I work at a mobile gaming company, and I've also worked a bit for other platforms in a bunch of different projects in a porting company. I've also tried to do projects on my own now and then, and tried to participate in some game jams. In fact this game is for a game a friend and I are trying to put together in our free time, I'll share about the game if and when we have something worth showing.
As for trying to make simple games, I guess it depends a lot on your background (what programming languages you know and so on). I've been trying Godot Engine lately and finding it really easy to use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64