3 Techniques to Feel Better NOW

in #art6 years ago (edited)

We've all been there: stressed out, negative thoughts, mind filled with doubts or worry. For some it has gone further than others, yet we all know what it's like to not feel good or certain about our selves. Here is a little list I made in case anyone who is struggling with distress somehow ends up ont this page in search for help.

  1. Meditation
    Long practiced in Eastern traditions, meditation has now become a trendy word recognized by most of the (at least Western) world. I'm sure everyone on here has heard about meditation and how they should be doing it so many times that it might feel unnecessary for me to mention it here, but meditation being one of the most powerful ways to get back to our 'center' (a fancy word meaning a peaceful state of mind), I cannot leave it out. Though many people interested in self improvement (which seems to be majority of the Steemit community) have probably tried it and might even have it as a habit, if you are feeling not so good about yourself and are reading this post for helpful advice, chances are meditation isn't at least a part of your life right now. I know this might seem like a big promise, and I also know that meditation might not always be the answer to everyone's particular situation, but having observed the benefits of meditation multiple times in my life, I definitely do think it might help most people having difficulties with stress, anxiety or depression, as meditation does offer a very much needed break from stress out thoughts and worrying, which basically is what causes any kind of problem that a human can have.

    And it's not just me or other random people's anecdotes that support the idea of meditation: there are many well-known benefits to meditations, such as improved focus, a better immune system and healthier body. Wouldn't you like some of that?

  2. Gratitude Journal
    Keeping a gratitude journal is another practice that can help you out of a funk and help you keep mindful about all the good things you have in life, an antidote to all kinds of worrying that we often fill our mind with. Gratitude journaling is also a very simple thing to do: you simply have to write a list of things that you are grateful for, everyday. Here is a link to a page that will help you write your gratitude journal as well as possible.

  3. Journaling/ Writing Down Your Thoughts and Feeling
    Last and most mundane but in some cases perhaps the most useful one. Whenever I have found myself in a stressed out funk, it has been because my mind has become such a jumbled mess that I wouldn't even be able to say what exactly is the root of the problem or know where to start solving out the puzzle that my thoughts had become. What is funny (thought it definitely does not feel very funny when you're there, trust me I know) though is that when you are in a bad place in your mind you probably wouldn't even think about journaling (or really any of the other techniques listed) as it can feel like such a simple and stupid task that you would never believe it worked. However, I do encourage everyone who is dealing with stress or negative thinking (as well as everyone who isn't, as it's a good way to let out our thoughts and feelings and gain some insight about ourselves) to at least try just once writing down whatever thoughts or feelings are going on iny our head. Though we often think that we know ourselves, the simple act of externalizing our thoughts can usually make us see things that we were not aware of, or at the least, to gain come clearer understanding and an outlet for all that pent up emotion. I definitely cannot suggest strongly enough the simple act of writing, since at least for myself, it is such a powerful way to understand myself while also letting out my feelings without the possibility of hurting someone or causing any misunderstandings.



I hope this little list might be helpful to anyone who is suffering, as I have gone through some shit myself and these little techniques themselves have helped me tremendously. If you have any comments or questions, I would love to hear them below! Thank you and have an amazing day.
Sort:  

There's so much to be gained from taking a moment for ourselves. Now to try it out!

Yes, indeed there is. I think we all definitely should do that more. It would do wonders for our mental (and overall) health.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71141.42
ETH 3848.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48