20 SBD in Prizes: Scenes of Nature Art Contest

in #art6 years ago (edited)

nature.jpg

Image Source

Since the earliest known cave paintings, artists have depicted scenes of nature. From simple studies of trees and animals to epic landscapes, nature is a powerful force for the artist to wield.

My recent Surreal Art Contest was a big success so I've decided to come back with something new to engage the artists of Steemit!


Today marks the beginning of a contest where I ask you to create an original piece of art for a chance to win Steem Backed Dollars.

Prizes

  • First Prize: 5 SBD (1 winner)
  • Second Prize: 3 SBD (2 winners)
  • Third Prize: 2 SBD (2 winners)
  • Fourth Prize: 1 SBD (5 winners)

In total, I'll be giving away 20 SBD to the winners of this contest. The prize money will be transferred after the winners have been announced.

"What must I do to win?"

Make a piece of art that prominently features nature. Your art can fall into any genre. It can be realistic, abtract, surreal, whatever you want. But it's subject needs to be nature. Drawings, paintings and digital paintings are all welcome. Please don't submit photography or manipulated photos.

You may submit as many pieces as you want, but you will only be eligible for one prize. For example, if you submit two pieces of art, you cannot win both first and fourth prizes. Only one of your pieces will be selected to win a prize. So submitting more art may increase your chances of winning a prize, but it's impossible to win more prizes.

Rules for Submission

  • The art must be your original work. I'll be doing reverse Google searches to check.
  • The art must prominently feature nature.
  • The art must be a drawing or painting (traditional and digital are both acceptable).
  • The art should be an original piece created for this contest. Please don't submit old works for an easy chance to win prizes. This is harder for me to check on, so please be honest. Last contest I let this slide a few times because I wasn't sure I would get enough submissions. I'm going to be more strict with the rules this time around.
  • You must Upvote and Resteem this post to be eligible to win.
  • If you submit your art as a post on your Steemit blog, it must be posted with the tag #scenesofnature.
  • You must show me your piece by leaving a comment on this post, linking me to your artwork. I don't want to go hunting for submissions.
  • Submissions are closed once this post pays out in 7 days.

Now feast your eyes on the examples below. I've featured a variety of styles and genres to get your imagination going!

North Shore Lake Superior
Lawren Harris

A River Landscape with Boats and Chateau
Salomon van Ruysdael

Unknown

Unknown
Moki

Even last contest's winner could have been submitted to this contest:

7

Pod Playground
@jacinta.sevilla


I hope these examples were helpful!

For the Surreal Art Contest, I drew five original surreal pieces to share while the contest was going on. I don't think I'll have time to do that for this contest. I'll try to create at least one though. And maybe I'll share some of my old art that fits the theme.

Happy drawing or painting! Have fun and good luck!

~Seth

Sort:  

ulala. ill see what my brain fabricates. @steveconnor. sth for you as well?!

Awesome! And bring all your friends too haha

The contest is now closed. Please don't submit any more entries.

Fantastic! Thanks for participating again :)

Thanks for the nice theme! Youre welcome!
With sparkles on top
☝️❣️✨

Beautiful drawing :o

Thanks so much!!!! 😱🌼🐨

Beautiful. Thanks for participating in the contest ")

I just started a new portrait art contest with 20 SBD in prizes. I hope you'll consider joining that one too!

hi seth , here is my entry ,surreal tree running away within myself.. ,

thanks for organizing the contest

as it's about nature , so inspired me to join you ,

CYMERA_20180130_103043~01.jpg

https://steemit.com/contest/@adelepazani/my-entry-for-the-contest-scenes-of-nature-organized-by-sethlinson-didn-t-i-tell-you

Love it! Thanks for entering.

I hope I made it in time, cutting it close. I upvoted this resteemed it and made my own post. Here is my post about my work. https://steemit.com/art/@donnadavisart/my-painting-the-spirit-of-birds-of-the-field-scenes-of-nature-art-contest

and here is my finished piece.

feb4spiritofflight.jpg

You made it on time! Thanks for entering :)

I just started a new portrait art contest with 20 SBD in prizes. I hope you'll consider joining that one too!

Hello! I am sorry to be late, this is my entry! I am going to do a post of it tonight on my blog talking about this draiwng and the beauty of the nature. I hope you like it! :-)

P1010136.JPG

You're not late. You just made it!

I just started a new portrait art contest with 20 SBD in prizes. I hope you'll consider joining that one too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55