Cloud Archaeology: Digital Fossils of Physical Works - Pt. 1 - Horizon Lean. 2016.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! This is the first post of a sort of retrospective of long forgotten (and for all intents and purposes deceased) sculptures, drawings and paintings made from whatever I had in my apartment, studio, or general vicinity at the time. I'm hoping for this to be a sort of cathartic and reinvigorating experience for me, while also giving me an opportunity to introduce myself and my work/process/history to the awesome group of creatives already on steemit!

All comments, critique, questions are welcome! I would love to start a dialogue about anything and everything with you all!

-Richard

Horizon Lean. 2016.

40600AA7-AB35-4CD8-A904-10F49A615DAB.jpgD5E5FB4C-C2B8-4087-998C-5A2E47482E76.jpg

All work and photography is my own.

Sort:  

Many questions but I don't know which... :-)

First, what is the idea behind this project ?

I was heavily influenced by post minimalism, arte povera, and mono ha at the time.

This was one of a series of pieces where i was exploring the emotional/expressive qualities of raw materials, in this instance standard steel sheets. I wanted to utilize the materials inherent physical qualities and physical forces such gravity and friction to create gestures that were guided or made in collaboration with the material rather than entirely decided/prescribed by me.

I was also experimenting scale, perspective, and light.

This is different and interesting.. hmm.

Yeah its a bit different :) Let me know any thoughts/questions!

What do you see?

I see the interplay of light, material, space, perspective, and scale. I see gravity, mass, and friction. I see the landscape and a horizon. What do you see?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69