Sort:  

@shaman-ra Thank you so much! I'm glad it's already doing part of its job ;D

Thanks for reminding me that still lifes are a thing and can be compelling if done right. Maybe this will become a trend again? I understand art history quite a bit and realize the big catalyst that changed art was the advent of the camera, which put artists who did realistic portrayals "out of business" in a sense.

How do you mean? Are you referring to still lifes or classical painting in general? Because as far as classical painting is concerned, its revival actually took place in the early 80's ;)

And yes, even Vermeer for example was a major proponent in the use of the camera. Even still to this day experts are still baffled on how he was able to create some of the work he did.

I was unaware of the revival. I was referring to that period in the 1800's when the camera was invented which made realistic portraits a cheaper option for folks compared to what the painters offered at the time. It is to my understanding this was the catalyst that led artists to achieve what the camera could not, resulting in things such as cubism, impressionism and the like. I will have to check out Vermeer sometime. Everytime I learn of a new artist, I hear of 3 more that are new to me. It is like a journey that doesn't end.

Oh yes, Vermeer was even further back than that with his use of the camera obscura! But the contemporary period in which you are referring to was actually after the impressionists came along, and the impressionists were those that completely rejected the classical/traditional modes of visual interpretation that lasted up to the late 19th century. The impressionists were those who valued color and the physical tangibility of light over the logical approach towards form, value, structure, etc..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64561.16
ETH 3244.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91