Drawing the Zodiac - Cancer Sign

in #art7 years ago

Creating an adult coloring page is the byproduct of creating art that you enjoy. I love pen and ink, but I prefer to start with pencil most of the time.

Once the image is drawn, I go back and fix anything I didn't like through graphic editing software.
CancerPledgeImage2.jpg

I have been working on a series for the Zodiac signs for my Patrons and here is Cancer post process.

CancerPreview.png

One of the big challenges for artists who draw without a reference (and sometimes those who use one) is that we often draw on a flat surface looking down upon the piece. Some of us also turn the page slightly while we work. This can lead to a skewed perspective with faces where two eyes don't match or the face itself has a droopy look. That happened with this piece and had to be resolved. The way to solve this (for the most part) is to get a slanted box or table for drawing. I don't have one. The key to an even face is to look at your page head on and resolve the perspective.

Here you can see her in progress. I've condensed an hour and fifteen minutes down into just over 6 minutes.

You can visit me and find her here:

https://www.patreon.com/ShelahDow

Sort:  

Awesome video ... Thank you for sharing your process...great to see !

You're welcome and thank you :) I'm really enjoying seeing your vids

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75