Starting something new

in #art6 years ago

Well, even if we are in the Summer, this year there are many snowing scenes in my mind ^_^ During the Summer of the past year I painted many different artworks abut sea, sailors, boat and similar things, but this time I feel the need to work on something about the Winter. Maybe I'll paint some Summer themes in the next winter ^_^

A couple of days ago I bought some little blank canvas, so this morning I started to use my oil colors on one of them. In this period I'm working to improve my skills and so I'm experiment myself in different tecniques, different style and different subjects too. It's a great exercise, because so I can "collect" ideas and tecniques to use also in my own style's paintings. I need to grow up, I really feel the need to grow up doing this.

Maybe you can thing this is really a simple painting with very simple subjects (even if it's not a finished work), but I need to do it because I need to exercise myself using different colors from my usual. Yes, I tend to use not vivid colors in my painting and my style is full of shadows and shades of the same color. I need to break my limits painting something in vivid colors like a vivid red or a vivid green, so I'm doing this to exercise myself for my next paintings ^_^

After I watched a docu movie about the artworks by L. S.  Lowry, I thought to use a similar style to exercise myself. I have just a problem (Ok, not just one problem, but it's one of my problem): while I'm exercise myself using a style similar to a painter of the past, my hubby tips to me to see also the artworks of other painters that he think can be useful to exercise my hands. So I have different "inputs" at the same time and I'm not really a person that usually can stay focused in just one thing at the same time. Because of this, when I'm exercising my hands on painting, I use to paint the subject using oil colors on paper, that it's a faster way than on canvas. It helps me to have less time to distract me. When I paint on canvas it's different, because I need more time to paint something  than on paper and so I can be distracted from other inputs. Yes, my self-control is low, I know ^_^

Even if it can be a "problem", I think it can be also a source, because sometimes I pained interesting pieces mixing the different input that catched me while I was working to them, so I'm leaving my hands and my mind free to work.

Hoping in a decent result, I need other hours to finish this artwork, but stay tuned ^_^

See ya soon and steem on

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

its qyite great to try something new after watching a series or artwork or something on the television its the perfect artwork and creation of yours

So pretty 👏
very few people have strayed from the traditional white~

Thanks so much ^_^

Oh, I'm excited to see this one develop. It's fun and a good idea to emulate other artists styles sometimes as it helps us to hone and improve our own style.

Have you ever heard of the american artist 'grandma moses' who didn't start painting until she was really old and she painted in a fun 'folk art' style. For some reason this makes me think of that. You should check her out.

Hello @silviabeneforti, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97