Toilet Paper Roll Wall Art

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Lady Swirly Face

When I first heard about Pinterest I was so super excited. I mean OMG! OMG! OMG! Genius, a place where people can post just about anything and everything. You can find recipes, self-help, parenting help, business help, quotes, tutorials, photos, and so much more, if the interwebs were to marry Google+ and have a child, it would be pinterest.

I happened to come across DIY Tutorials on Toilet Paper Roll Wall Art, and I immediately fell in love them, because they looked like wrought iron wall art. So, I learned how they were creating these beautiful pieces of wall art, and set out to find me some supplies. Once I had acquired my supplies, it was off to Creative Land for me.

Image of First Layout

This is what my project looked like when I first started playing around with the cut up toilet paper rolls.

I am in no way, shape, or form a realist artists by any means. I love abstract, doodling (what I call it), mixed media, and decoupage.

Image of Second Layout

Still learning the best width to cut the toilet paper rolls, the best way to glue the pieces together, and playing around with coiling up the paper to get curves, and swirls.

With that being said, I work in the moment with no predetermined plans, I just let my hands and mind flow together and await the beauty they are unfolding in front of me.

Image of Face Not Painted

And it is starting to take it's shape, Lady Swirly Face!! :-)

Image of Face Not Painted w Mouth

Lady Swirly Face now has her mouth and chin, as well as a few more details that I have added as well.

Image of Face w Mouth Chin Floral

I made the mistake of not painting the toilet paper rolls first. BIG! BIG! BIG! Mistake!!! It is not easy to paint them once you have finished your design, unless of course you are going to spray paint the entire thing the same color.

Image of Face w Mouth Chin First Paint

This is the second time I painted some of it, and unfortunately the baby got it and it is no longer in one piece, but several.

Image of Face w Mouth Chin Second Paint

Sort:  

Nice Posting, I have some of my own wall arts in Venice Beach CA please check them out :

https://steemit.com/art/@themevlog/wall-art-in-venice-beach-ca

Just upvoted and followed you, can you please do the same for me?
Thanks a million!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71