Sisters Art Lab - monthlong challenge - March - Impressionism - Vincent van Gogh - Landscapes

in #art6 years ago

Hello my artful souls,

This week we work on Van Gogh's landscapes.


I know it is a very challenging artist to try and emulate because of his high level of geniality.
Still I tried and let me tell you it was so worth it.


I attempted a painting by Van Gogh called 'the willows at sunset' from 1888. It had caught my eye immediately when I browsed for landscapes.
The more I worked on it, the more I was able to understand Van Gogh's painterly approach to a subject like this. I feel more comfortable with a pen than with a brush and think in lines and shapes rather than areas of colour and light and shadow. So this was challenging for me but also so rewarding.


I am blown away by how 'modern' this painting feels and can only imagine how brave an artist back then had to be to work so free and wild like he did in this painting.


IMG_2469.jpg


This is the original painting


Willows_at_Sunset_1888_Vincent_van_Gogh.jpg
Source


Hope you enjoy!


Geena


giffooter.gif

Sort:  

Beautiful Scenic Photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66