I am heresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I am here.jpg

I´ve finished all the works for my upcoming exhibition on january 19!
So before the hanging week starts tomorrow, I´ve found time to post this.

This is watercolor on paper, the size is the infamous 21 x 30 cm, and here you see it in a black frame.

While I was making finishing touches for my exhibition, I saw this post:
https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-55-theme-subliminal-35-steem-in-prizes
And I remembered a photo I took last summer, in the category "I might paint this" (I have a lot of those)
With my watercolor skills all warmed up and good to go, I discided to participate.

I´ts the last day of a very hot summer, and me and my 2 sons are sitting outside the local Kebab-house.
We are waiting for Dürum rolls, with kebab and ekstra chili. I'ts high noon , the sun is pouring down on us,
We´re together, but in each in our own world, tired, hungry and wrapped up in thought.

The title is: "I am here"
I´m looking at them, but i dont´t exist....

first pencil.jpg

I started with a pencil sketch, from the photo (the colors were edited in instagram and the hard cut compostion aswell)
You can see it here: https://www.instagram.com/p/BmYY9UvAjsr/
The boys were actually closer together. I made the void between them bigger, actually iI just fitted it to the paper format, but I think it makes the absence of the viewer greater.
I make a qute detailed sketch, and then I almost erase it, so it wont be a colored drawing, only a support for the painting. The detailed sketching also gives me a in dept knowledgde of my motif that I carry with me when I start to paint.

first color.jpg

Then I start to paint, and I got carried awy so this is unfortunately the only process picture af the actual coloring (theres something to improve in my next post :-)) I´ve only painted the boys, and the table they are sitting at, the background is untouched paper, Again a point to the absence between us......

Subliminal...

Sort:  

I love this very much, @skovclaude :) You captured the emotions of being 'here' even if the bodies are tired and just kinda needing space to be let alone.... Very nice body language and I like the colours :) The definitions on their facial features and expressions are wonderful <3

What an interesting and thoughtful art, the empty space between us is clearly conveyed in this painting. The boys are lovely as well.
                     
I hope you would post more :D. If you can't post or comment enough and want to interact or ask questions with other artists, feel free to check the SteemArtists discord: https://discord.gg/ENN8KCb :).

Congratulations @skovclaude! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95