Inktober Day 7: Exhausted

in #art6 years ago

After reading @silviabeneforti’s comment about Inktober I thought, what the hell I will have go.

Let’s face it, you’re either an artist and have talent in that area or you don’t. I’m firmly in the DON’T category, and have no illusions about my lack of talent.

The official Inktober site is here.

abqo4fhs7o.jpg

jovm6qkbuy.jpg

As its 5am, my dog Shadow is still pretty exhausted and quite disinterested in me taking photographs of him. While I’m typing this up I can hear him dreaming with his little yelps, but his hearing is too sensitive for me to creep up on him for a video snap.

I decided on a pencil drawing as my Art teacher once complimented me on a drawing of an owl I once did. When it comes to reproduction that’s my strong point (yes I know it’s not strong).

Ideas out of my head? I’ll leave that to you real artists.

rru9t5rocd.jpg

Starting with the eyes, I tried to remember all the things the teacher taught me. No lines, use shades. I’m a little out of practice but maybe then next one will be better.

It didn’t help that my pencil seemed to be ‘leaking’. I thought pens leaked, not pencils. There’s some smudging on the right bottom of my drawing and I don’t have a rubber.

rhmubybvn3.jpg

The carpet he’s lying on is very dark in shade so I did a little scribbling. It’s really doesn’t look too good though.

I'm wondering how 'proper artists' would approach this shading technique? Probably not by scribbling.

c7mdjtfbu8.jpg

By the point I had had enough. It’s not all there but just maybe you could recognize this as a dopey dog trying to get some sleep.

I won't be able to get a true idea if this is any good until my ultra-critical, scathing worded teenage daughter, @dismayedworld sees it. She has got as much humour as our pet cat and won't hold back in her opinion.

25q4dp4jwf.png

Here’s to the next Inktober Challege. I‘m going back to bed!

()

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 275 (10/08/18)

Pretty decent pic for someone who thinks they can't draw. I always wished I could, but have absolutely no skill. Frankly anything to do with hand eye coordination I suck at big time.

What I love about going to the pub, is that after a few pints, I forget how bad I am and think I will finally this time win at pool, snooker or darts. Maybe I should have a few before my next attempt at drawing lol.

Thanks @chaomos, but you don't need to be good to do this, its all just fun. You should give it a go, after several pints if necessary :)

Fantastic subject and I'm happy to see you started your "adventures" in the Inktober challenge!!! I think it's a very good start and doing it every day (or when you have time to do it ^^) you'll see the improvements, believe me! The important is: have fun! ^^

Thanks Silvia, I'll try another one in a few days. I'm not going to do them everyday as they take up lots of time. It was fun trying to draw my lazy dog.

Great to see all you people making inktober drawings... expressing yourself in freedom even. I am tied to my working table...

Nice doggie.

It was refreshing to to that drawing at 4.30am while suffering from insomnia. Around 5am, I was back in bed feeling semi-satisfied. It can only get better!

Trying out a media you seldom occupied yourself with before is often a great experience. I sometimes make music, dance, does spreadsheeting or programming. It is funny and uplifting. The results... well, who cares :)

Here's some music I made.

That's an old post. Who are the people chained to posts and suffering that I can hear?

Probably something I stole on the internet! I made another post with other pieces, but as usual it is almost impossible to find an old Steemit post when you need it.

Try this... you can find ALL your old ones easily.
https://helpienaut.github.io/steem/allposts.html

That's actually very useful! thanks.

wow, nice job.... You are a real multi-talent :)

One thing for an absolute fact. I certainly don't have the talent and will not critic yours. At all.

I think it's really cool that you are participating in the challenge. Says something.

I actually really like it! You ave found another talent to add to your list mr SC! :D

Thanks BB, being dog related helps I guess, but my next dog post (tomorrow) will probably be of more interest to you.

I'm not doing the Inktober's every day as I limit myself to one post a day.

Any more and I'll be getting a divorce for spending too much time here.

Sounds interesting I am eagerly awaiting tomorrow's post now! :D

Oh, definitely don't risk your marriage for the sake of Steemit, that would be seriously bad news! :D

My husband never notices what I am up to, I could be selling kidneys on the black market and he still wouldn't notice! haha

The important thing is just to do it. And you have :)
I hope you enjoy Inktober, S Chops!

FOR TSE: Signed "S. Chops." I love it. Also ... I assume Little Miss Critical does everything great the first time every time. Otherwise, you should stop asking her for her thoughts. I think this isn't bad, TBH. It's streets ahead of anything I could do.

Thanks ES, replication to me isn't really true art though. The ones that can draw from their heads and use their imagination to create... those are the real deal.

This is ridiculous! How can you claim to not be an artist and then throw out something like this? I think it is pretty amazing. Great job. I am very impressed.

Thanks @bozz, but it's really not that good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95