Hello Steemit, about me and my comic

in #art6 years ago (edited)

ytavi..png

I'm a 27 yr old from Australia but now reside in Canada with my boyfriend whom I met online way back in 2010. It's a bit of a wild story that requires it's own dedicated blog post to tell. In short, he writes and I draw. We're in the process of creating comics together of which is what my blog posts will largely be about. In addition to that I'm also really passionate about teaching what I know, so I'll try to get some instructional/ tutorial blogs going too if i can find the time. This year I'm going into a trade school so I will be mostly busy with that unfortunately.

So far I've started slowly turning out some pages for our first short, 'Bumbleberry Pie' which is just a simple day in the life of one of our characters from a larger project "Strawberry Riot". The story isn't anything fancy admittedly, but we're making it to just test the waters and mostly for me to learn paneling and polish my black + white rendering techniques. I am not a fast paced artist and I own up to that fully - I like to take my time and flesh out the environments around the characters because the world they live in is an important character too. :-)

chipmunk1.png

You can read the first few pages here: https://tapas.io/episode/723927

My artstyle was largely influenced by shounen comics because I love the wild diversity of styles from each individual series. I pushed for more realism in my figures however and ended up with what I think is a bit of a hybrid between western and eastern comic styles. The portrait below is of Eric Callahan, main character of Bumbleberry Pie. Hope you like it. :]

ericportrait.png

Sort:  

good luck

Those comic pictures look stunning - Welcome to steemit :) Boosted you a little with an upvote + resteem from @welcoming! Greets, @theaustrianguy

Loading...

welcome to steemit @spudfuzz, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

hello @spudfuzz and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

Thanks for the welcome!

Congratulations @spudfuzz, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Your style is so clean! In Europe we got a style called "euro manga" which is similar to what you do. It's actually trendy! I think you could easily work for France.

Ironically I actually took some inspiration from some French comic/ manga artists because they had a really nice hybrid look going on! Some of them even use some art noveau in their work and it looks super pretty. Thanks for letting me know though it explained a bit. :D

Franco-belgian are probably my favorite. If you want to stay posted about the latest bande dessinees there's a lot of valid french websites like http://www.actuabd.com/ !!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @spudfuzz to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to steemit! Your comics look great! You'll feel right at home here along plenty of other creative people :)

Thanks! Already been trawling through some tags and found some neat work! :D

wow! you guys are interesting in personal and professional life coordination.. @spudfuzz I would love to see your written materials. #peace and #love

Ah thank you! I feel like we have a really strong mutual respect for each other and our respective skill/ experience that has allowed us to work collaboratively for this long. My partner is still in the process of being approved on Steemit and I'd rather leave any purely written works for him to post. The rest of his work will come through the comics I end up posting.

You are welocme... Keep it up @spudfuzz... Nice to meet you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75