Hammer Fall

in #art6 years ago

P53Detail2.jpg

Published first on Steemit - Hammer Fall, a recent painting by me in Photoshop. Some of the steps:

First sketch, stashed away deep in the "maybe" folder several years ago:

DemonBlacksmith0.jpg

Brought it out every now and then, fiddled with it some more:

DemonBlacksmith1.jpg

And some more:

DemonBlacksmith.jpg

Then I started on it properly. First shooting some reference (and editing it of course):

Fail.jpg

Then just painting the heck out of it for about twenty hours...

DemonBlacksmithLo.jpg

This music from my favorite band inspired me while I worked:

What they're singing about is a situation I grew up with, that younger people just have no idea about: the nuclear arms race between USA and USSR. For decades we were told there would be 15 minutes warning if World War 3 ever started... we'd look up at the sky and wonder if the missiles were already flying up there. Just waiting for the hammer to fall.

I was also thinking about this book from my youth (it's really good I highly recommend it):

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lucifer's_Hammer

Another detail:

P53Detail1.jpg

Thanks for watching!

My graphic novel Android Blues:
First page:
Here

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

SteemArtistsBanner_72dpi.png

Sort:  

Very nice work, @stahlberg !! :D Love the epic pose ! * ___ * And the details on the hammer is greatgreat <3 The expression is really eyecatching and the body language is goooooood~

I also love the plane on the foreground trying to get away from there as fast as it can XD

and o man, that song really puts things into perspective, today's world also feels as if sometimes it's at the brink of toppling over into dark places :( i do hope we will find a path to a better future somehow, together.

Great post <3 I curate it happily <3 <3 (also thank you for using the steem artists footer <3)

Thanks! yes the tension was really high constantly during the 70's and 80's... then Gorbachev came along and changed everything.

Excellent work, @stahlberg. That is really impressive! Awesome level of detail! 😃

Thank you :)

Yeah, amazing artwork again!

Great Art work and really great music clip! This is also one of my favarite band.

Aamzing artwork and the pic of you made me LOL

Thanks hehe

🎉 Congratulations @stahlberg! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Thank you!

whoops sorry for double commenting, there were some network issues with steemit at the moment...

🎉 Congratulations @stahlberg! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

you've got some amazing skillz, im really glad to find artist like you it's such an inspiration, you blow my mind. really theres no much more to say than thank you for sharing this.

Really cool painting! I like the way you distorted your reference to get it closer to what you had in your head.

you are so great using photoshop, i've promoted you in my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97