You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jenůfa Nószimål

in #art4 years ago

You know, the more I think about it, the more I think it should be "залые души," which means "evil souls" as opposed to "дикие души," which means "wild souls." The problem with the word "wicked" is that its archaic definition is different from its modern definition. That's the trouble with translating from Latin to English to Russian, not that I have a choice, seeing as I don't have a Latin-Russian dictionary.

On that note, at the time I translated that Latin chant, the English-Russian dictionary I was using had exceedingly outdated entries, which I didn't pick up on until I noticed that "hippopotamus" was translated as "бегемот," which no-one still uses (as far as I know) aside from religious snobs who like to pretend to not know what the word "призрак" ("ghost") means in common vernacular.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67633.45
ETH 3775.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70