You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New: Artistic Bonsai Banner, Celebrating 1600 SP [Art]

in #art6 years ago

Congrats! I looked you up since you have visited my blog recently. Now I am following. Your apple tree in your logo looks like a Manzanita - literally small or little apple. They have distinctive red bark which is why I thought of them. I'm doing a post on them soon but here's a picture
IMG_0505.JPG

Sort:  

That's pretty cool. I've been noticing some cherry and plum trees have almost a purple tint to the bark. When I painted this image, all I really thought about was the apple color doesn't look right if I leave the fruit red, so I added some dabs of yellow, which made them look rotten. Then I added some dots of candy apple green, and that made them look like real apples to me.

That is a very beefy sized trunk for an apple tree. I'm guessing this type of apple tree has a longer life span than most specialized breeds.

20180608_145800.jpg

I have two apple trees I had grafted professionally to grow edible fruit in my yard, but they so dinky. One is gravenstein, and the other is sweet 16. They may not produce fruit for a few more years. I tried grafting Northern Spy onto the larger tree, but it did not take. I'll have to try again next year.

As the trees age, I notice the stems change from leaf green, to translucent green over red, to cinnamon bark red.

20180608_145830.jpg

Thanks for noticing my blog. You always post really spectacular and unusual flower photos I enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63432.48
ETH 3063.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81