Walking / Drawing in Greece

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi, here are some drawings made in the last two months. Please forgive beginner clumsiness.
On a spring morning in Rhodes, I entered the Old City and heard beautiful guitar playing by one young guy sitting on a bench by St. Anthony's Gate. The severity of the place made the music and new leaves that much more beautiful. I did a quick pencil sketch and later a larger drawing. For some reason, I like the little one better.

P1000824rodospencilPalace.JPG

~

P1010260rodosPalace.JPG

~

This is the Portera on Naxos Island. It was an entrance to an unfinished Temple of Apollo.

![P1010259.Portera.JPG]
()

~

This woman waits by the harbor, below the Portera. I have proposed marriage several times, but she has not answered.

P1010256naxosWoman.JPG

~

The Frankish Castle on Paros, built using pieces from a much earlier temple.

P1010253parosCastle.JPG

~

Paros sunrise:

P1000827parossunrise.JPG

~

This is the old entrance to Rhodes harbor:
P1000835rodosharbor.JPG!

~

On Kos, net mending chair:

P1000838kosnetmendingchair.JPG

~

On Kos, the Fountain of Hippocrates, where he gave medical lectures: "First do no harm..."
These plane trees are the great-grandchildren of the original grove. The hollowed out one is estimated to be about 500 years old.

hippocrates.JPG

~

Paros in spring:
P1000831paroswheatandpoppies.JPG

Sort:  

Very nice straight Walker I particularly like the ones with the colors in them

Thanks, memes. Colors are next. I figured I had to at least get to the beginner's level in drawing before trying color, couldn't take all that complexity at once. Starting tomorrow with small watercolor kit I have in my pack. Once home, I can really get at it. Faces, too. Can't wait.

Nice to see you inspired to create!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64