Speedpaint - Coco Chanel Perfume

in #art6 years ago (edited)


This is for all the fashionistas and fragrance fiends out there. Let me start you out with a quote from the timeless fashion idol herself, Coco Chanel. “A dress is neither a tragedy or a painting, it is a charming and ephemeral creation, not an everlasting work of art. Fashion should die and die quickly in order that commerce may survive, the more transient fashion is, the more perfect it is, you can’t protect what is already dead.” I have witnessed the style of this painting also become a trend as I’ve seen ones like it appear all over furniture boutique windows and walls. It will become a bygone frenzy and be replaced by a new passing appeal when the next best thing is released.

That is exactly what fashion is and has always been, trends are coming and going as fast as the weather changes and inevitably end up in the same cycle in some recycled and re-invented way. We are all consumers on the fast fashion train ride, or at least we are exposed to it and coerced to spend quickly. Ironic how Chanel’s work has remained timeless and one of the most sought-after brands to this very day. There is also a fascinating article by @pulpworx about the Nazis and Chanel’s involvement as a collaborator, it can be read here: https://steemit.com/history/@pulpworx/was-coco-chanel-a-nazi-superspy-the-catwalk-of-doom

This painting was done as a gift for a friend who cherishes it and has given it a home in one of her favourite rooms and I'm so glad I recorded it! The style of the artwork may be a hasty trend, but I know her appreciation for the piece will last a lifetime. I love what I do!

** Stuffing can be ephemeral too


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  


You went outside the lines. It's very messy.
D minus.

Hahaa now she has a face I’d like to paint. Is it weird that autocorrect changed face I’d to Face ID? Never used that term before


Autocorrect can't handle it's contractions.

Hah I actually “...what?’d” that for a second

This is the type of teacher that had me bail on school... #luckyihaveasteemitdegree

Haha ;) nooo it’s fake it’s aaaaall fake

Hey @stuffing you smashed it!

That music, with my morning coffee damn I needed that!

I forgot to ask who did the henna on your hand? Was it @wildflowerjessi ?

Aaah thank you haha! No the henna was done by someone else I was at a group thing. Even gave it a crack myself, although I do want @wildflowerjessi to hit me with some henna, love the artwork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01