"SPIRIT OF PASSION"- Entry for Jenny's Art Contest Week #14

in #art6 years ago

Hi everyone

This is my entry for the contest hosted by @topkpop themed SPIRIT. This is my first time to draw realism and I added a video on how I completed the process. Have fun!

Finished product.


First, I choose to draw Kurt Cobain, the lead singer of Nirvana as he was very passionate in everything he did as a musician.

Back then, I used to visit my cousin every Saturday after my Kiddie camp program and didn't notice would play Nirvana songs the whole time through a cassette player. It sounded so classic at that time though. Years went by, and eventually my cousin taught me how to play guitar and the first song I learned was "All Apologies", one of Nirvana's hit songs written by Kurt himself.

This drawing serves as a tribute to Kurt as he's one of the artists who drove me to become a musician.

Despite his controversial life, he never gave up and dedicated so much to the music industry. His passion as a musician has been acknowledged by people who've known him. I want to channel this spirit of passion whenever I play my guitar.


Process

I chose to draw a simple portrait of the man containing that spirit.

Kurt Collage 1.jpg

  • I started by drawing the forehead and towards the nose. On this part, I had a hard time aligning the nose to its natural position. Also, I drew the jawline early in the process to create a guide for the features to follow.

  • I shaded the eyebrows, eyelashes and the eyes by degrees until I got the natural shape. Also, I straightened out the jaw. Hopefully, it turned out fine.

  • I drew his fingers holding the cigar. Drawing fingers is one of the most challenging parts. His fingers are bent slightly, and I created some space between each finger, pointing them towards the mouth.

  • I added some shadings on the chin and also on the ear in order to create the outline of the face.

  • I drew the wrist, sleeves and the base of the guitar.

  • I did a lot of erasures while drawing the hair. I kept on repeating this part.

IMG_1151.JPG

Last but not least, I add overall shadows to the eyelids, hair, side of the face, shoulder, and hands to give more body and depth.

IMG_1155.JPG


Bonus Speed Video of my Shading Process


That's about it and I hope you found this post interesting. Leave me your comments or suggestions below and upvote, follow or resteem if you like this and want to see more!

Cheers,
@sukiyakii


STEEMITBANNER.JPG

Sort:  

Good working

You got a 0.85% upvote from @upme requested by: @sukiyakii.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

ya galing., magpapraktis na talaga ako mag drawing hehehe

Yikes. Thanks sir. Magaling kaman. Kaya mo yan.

hahaha stick lang alam ko drawing eh., wawa namn ako.,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61