SUCCULENT AND CACTI DISH GARDEN FOR TODAY'S MENU

in #art5 years ago (edited)

IMG20180901185133-01-01.jpeg

HELLO EVERYONE!

Happy November first to all!

Today is a Holiday and I've got no work! Yeah NO WORK TODAY! I feel awesome for waking early. I had a great sleep without worrying about what to do as I rose up from bed. I had my coffee and breakfast and freshened up as I decided to go on a walk to the market.

When I was at the public plaza, I saw a lady plant seller on the center and came to check for bonsai trees. I got disappointed because she has nothing but flowering plants. I glance at her side and saw a pile of succulents and cacti placed on a box. They looked so cute and perfect for collections. I bought six little live items and got a free white stones (peabbles in size) used for setting up in a pot. All for 300 pesos.

I like succulents and cacti. They do not need a lot of attention when it comes to water. Watering then using a spray once a week with a minimal sunlight are already enough. And also bringing them inside the house is good for the air. Well we all know about the carbon dioxide being absorb and converted by plants to carbohydrates to make them strong and produce a very important element - oxygen for our consumption. What a healthy air we have if we fill our homes with plants. Lol

Then I came at the nearest pottery store and after a meticulous insights with the vendor, I got a 15-inch diameter pot with 4-inch height for a hundred pesos. I also found a store with stones on sale, I thought it would be good for outer layout so I grabbed and paid for it.

As I said, I have no important errand for today but I have a lot of time to accomplish something good for my mind and soul. We'll do dish gardening using the things I have. I was so excited to do this knowing it has been a long time since I last soiled my hands in the garden.

Let's do this!


MATERIALS

  • Shallow Pot
  • Dry soil
  • Bread Paperbag
  • Stones and Peabbles

PhotoGrid_1535800221391.jpg

  • Spray
  • A pair of Scissors
  • Large Popsicle Sticks
  • Red Ribbon
  • Superglue

PhotoGrid_1535800423756.jpg

  • Succulents and Cacti (we have Sansevieria cylindrica, Opuntia microdasys, Mammilaria cactus, Hedgehog cactus, Echeveria, and Echinocactus gersonii)

IMG20180901174748-01.jpeg


PROCEDURE

1.) Tear the bread paper bag into pieces and place it on the shallow pot. The paper will serve as a catch for the soil not to go straight out towards the holes of the pot.

PhotoGrid_1535800540089.jpg

2.) Put the cactus on it for pre-landscaping. The Sansevieria cylindrica on the center of the masterpiece because it is designed or believed to bring fortune.

PhotoGrid_1535800861808.jpg

3.) Put the soil on the pot, not full. I dug the soil from our compost pit so I am sure it is a healthy soil.

PhotoGrid_1535800642600.jpg

4.) At the middle of the pot, place the popsicle sticks to come up with a circle yard. When circle is formed, put another layer of soil for layering purposes.

PhotoGrid_1535801191595.jpg

5.) Remove the Sansevieria cylindrica from the plastic pot and plant it in the circle yard. The miniature Sansevieria cylindrica is awesome as the center of the dish garden.

PhotoGrid_1535801377053.jpg

6.) Cut a portion of the red ribbon and put it in the lower part first with the aid of the superglue. Cut another portion of the red ribbon and this time place before the tip. The ribbon will support the popsicle yard from land sliding. Lol

PhotoGrid_1535801577199.jpg

7.) Place ample white peabble-like stones on the center yard.

IMG20180901182418-01.jpeg

8.) Place again all five others around the center yard for pre-landscape. Then dig holes for every succulent and cacti. There must be five hole surrounding the center yard.

PhotoGrid_1540992970852.jpg

9.) Remove the cacti from the black plastics and plant it on the dug holes.

IMG20180901183212-01.jpeg

10.) Add moisture on the dish garden by spraying a little amount of water.

IMG20180901183723-01.jpeg

11.) Put the assorted stones next to the lid of the shallow pot.

IMG20180901183809-01.jpeg

12.) Fill the dish garden with all white stones left.

IMG20180901183938-01.jpeg

13.) Lastly, remove all sorts of dirt or unwanted soil from the dish garden to arrive at its neatness. Only then that we are all set!

IMG20180901185133-01.jpeg


Now we can take a picture of our project for today and let it dry for couple of hours before putting it whereever we wanted in or out of our houses.

I am so much happy for the outcome. I hope you too will be able to make one and enjoy while doing it. Let's all have fun!


THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR DROPPING BY!

GODBLESS! :-)

Sort:  

Astig, nice one!

Salamat po! :-)

I once bought a succulent for my office desk but it died. That got me frustrated that I did not bother getting a replacement. The funny thing is, I never took the effort to understand why it died. In the first place, I did not even learn how to take care of it before I bought it. Too careless I guess...

But you presented it in a very nice way and sounded so easy to take care of it. You mentioned watering them is just once a week with just spraying. I now realized my biggest mistake was watering the plant every day. And I pour on them! 😂 Now I think I can get one and keep it alive.

Thank you for sharing this process. It's a learning for me. I featured it on my post which is an entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You too can join.

I am happy to learn about how you regarded my blog informative Ma'am. Thank you for reaching out and featuring it on your blog. You are so cool. Thank you thank you and Godbless po.

You're welcome. 😊 I am also glad to have found your article. It is my pleasure to feature it. Continue posting good quality articles! God bless you too!

I love this @superjongky! Succulents and cacti are my favorites :)
I found your post because @macoollette featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :) Please feel free to join us next week with an entry of your own!

I'm also submitting this to c-squared; hopefully they stop by to show their appreciation as well :)

Great project! I especially love how you used the popsicle sticks to make the taller pot. Very cool.

I made a cactus garden one year when I missed the bus to Easter Sunday's church service. So, I grabbed a different bus, went and got all that I needed for this cactus dish garden. It was a nice way to spend Easter.

I found you thanks to @macoolette's entry into the Pay it Forward curation contest. Keep up the great work!

What a beautiful but also complicated project. Well done. It came out very well.

PS: I have found your post because @macoolette featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

It so easy if you have the passion for it. I believe anyone could do one master piece. You should try it too. I know you can do it too! Thank you veey much.

Nah. I am not a crafty person, at all. 😂

wonderful arrangement @superjongky ! I wonder how beautiful it will be if any of your cacti has its flower one day, and we can make this as a gift for someone who loves succulent and cacti too, They'll love it and take care of it with all the heart.
thanks for sharing your art with us and I found your post through @macolette entry post in the pay it forward contest this week, Keep Steem it on!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

"I feel awesome for waking early. I had a great sleep without worrying about what to do as I rose up from bed. I had my coffee and breakfast and freshened up as I decided to go on a walk to the market." i envy you i wake up with a bad flu, by the way your creation look awesome!

Wow that is really well done. Not sure I could match that but is something to think about next time I have a day off. I found this post because @macoolette has entered you in the Pay It Forward Contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98