Unicorns- They are not extinct

in #art4 years ago

Hello there!
How are you doing today?

image.png

Welp, I'm back with another piece! This time finished under 10 hours, which is great. It started out as a joke, a friend, we were playing league of legends together and she was joking that I should draw her a unicorn. I started studying the anatomy of the horse head, broke down the shapes in a couple of minutes, then I started applying base values. But It started to come out better than what I was aiming for. So, I decided to stream it, allowing my viewers to see my work on something different for once.
When I finished the grayscale foundation of the piece I've got stuck for a couple of minutes, but then I remembered that NASA made their visual library public, free of charge and I decided to look for a fitting image there, I was not disappointed. I've used a couple of images of the Milky Way that I warped to create the mane and some other galaxies and star clusters. This gave me the palette that you see now, on top of that I've used a mixture of overlay and color dodge layers to enhance the values and to create the particles and light beams. Then I applied a couple of color filters with masks to focus on certain areas. And a little bit of play with one of my particle brushes for the chaos around the horn. And... there was a point where I didn't know what to add or remove, so... I called it done

image.png

This is without the Pinky filter... I don't know what I like better so there are both versions :P


Tools used: Photoshop cc2018 & Wacom Intuos pen Small

If you like my art, please follow me on:
Facebook; Artstation; Deviantart; Behance;Patreon; Instagram; Dlive; Twitter and Twitch

You can own part of my artworks in the Ethereum blockchain Here

ancient one Gray2.jpg

To buy a print or a Limited edition copy of my works
CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

mmm! Thank you!

Thats a badass unicorn, so cool:)

Thank you very much, dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66