Don't Starve Together Fan Art

in #art5 years ago

I've been on a bit of a break recently, and have gotten back into playing one of my all-time favourite games, Don't Starve. It's this adorably creepy game by a developer called Klei.

IMG20181217124921.jpg

One thing I really love about it is the variety of characters and their personalities. In total there are 18 characters between the base game, its DLCs and the multiplayer version (the one I usually play). I've chosen 7 of them that I either regularly play myself, or my friends play with me. Everyone seems to have their own theories/opinions on the specifics of each character, and I love coming up with scenarios that match their personalities... Especially since Klei has started releasing more and more of their backstories.

Anyway, onto the drawing. I thought it'd be fun to show a step by step of how I draw up these things.


I usually have an idea of what kind of scene I want to draw before I start. In this case I knew I wanted all 7 characters, with WX-78 warning them of a hound attack. I drew 7 heads and tried to position them around a fireplace.

IMG20181216170602.jpg

Then I figured out who I wanted where, so I drew in their faces. I'm not great at faces or anything, tbh, so I chose a defining part of their face and focused on that to make them recognizable.

IMG20181216172718.jpg

I wanted to give a little bit of variety, so I added armour and items to different characters. Then I straightened up the lines ready for going over with a marker. I worked from the front to the back, because a mistake I tend to make a lot is accidentally drawing something in the background first.

IMG20181216173209.jpg
IMG20181216173730.jpg
IMG20181216183010.jpg

Once it was all done, I erased the pencil and got onto deciding colours.

IMG20181216201502_1.jpg

I used a separate piece of paper to test colours and figure out what was best.

IMG20181217104543.jpg

First I did all of the characters, leaving the background be.

IMG20181217112738.jpg

Then came the background. At this point I started adding more shading and lines with the black pen.

IMG20181217124921.jpg

The finished product has (from left to right) WX-78, Wilson and his science machine, Wendy with Abi's flower, Webber (sitting down), Wigfrid, Wickerbottom, and Willow.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by minismallholding from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @svitlaangel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is very cute! I love all the characters that you included in this drawing :D Lovely step by step presentation, also <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55