Art Attack #179: Burnt Toast from a Pepega Toaster 🍞

in #art2 months ago

image.png

Hey Steemit!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So I've been sharing about my first time doing a subathon on Twitch back in September since Twitch has a promotion on subscriptions the whole month. It was my first attempt at a subathon, which is a type of livestream where every time a streamer receives a subscription, more time is added to a descending timer with various rewards after a certain number of subs. I'm not really comfortable having such goals but since it was for a good cause I wanted to try it out.

Anyway, the main impetus behind this was I just wanted to make a graffiti wall with the names of all those who contributed and that's exactly what I ended up doing! I also did lots of art and drew stickers for all those who contributed 5 subs or more. The response was astounding and I ended up amassing quite a bit of art debt but it was fun trying to draw stickers and they came out really well so I thought I'd share them!

So we're down to the last two stickers I did for this event, both of which were for fellow streamer friend who goes by ToastedToasterTV on Twitch! We've been friends for a while and play games together on stream getting up to different shenanigans here and there. We also support each other whenever we can, and during the subathon he actually donated! I really wasn't expecting it, but I think he wanted to gift subs and couldn't for some reason. Classic Toasted. So the sticker I came up with was perfect since he's known for being a Pepega.

Pepega is an ironic emote and insult used when someone says or does something stupid or thoughtless. It's depicted by an expression of suprise by a modified image of Pepe the Frog. However, the type of surprise expressed by Pepega has a mocking attitude to it. The emote looks like this:

image.png

I always Toasted him a Pepega since he does a lot of dumb stuff and it's all in good fun since we make fun of each other all the time. Since he donated I thought it'd be cool to do a special Toasted pepega emote sticker for him! Basically I'd take his regular toaster emote and make it have this modified pepe face. This was his original Toaster:

image.png

I didn't really have much of a sketch since I had an existing outline for his toaster already from when I drew an emote for him previously called Samoge, but I did sketch the pepega face to see how I could position it with his Toaster:

image.png

I thought it looked pretty good, so I proceeded to outline it and it turned out like this, which I thought matched really well.

image.png

I coloured in the pepega face using the colours on the original emote and also his Toaster emote:

image.png

I decided to make his bread burnt since we make fun of a mutual friend always burning stuff in the kitchen. And of course a pepega toaster would end up burning bread anyway. After colouring it in this was the final result:

image.png

I initially did an emote sticker using the previous emote I did for him, which looks like this:

image.png

It's based on an inside joke we have called Samoge which I explained in the post where I shared about this emote. Basically it's the combination of two pepe emotes called Sadge and Smoge and Toaster being a pepega mixed them up and ended up saying Samoge, and that was how this meme was born. To this day we celebrate Samoge by doing a collab stream on 28 Sep as a sort of friend anniversary. It's actually pretty sweet.

Anyway, to commemorate that I thought of making it into a sticker as well, but removing the ghost so it's just Toaster's cursed face that looks like this:

image.png

It actually looked pretty good, and I wish I could print these out tbh. Maybe next time I'll find a way to turn all my stickers into real life stickers that I could display on my wall somewhere. Won't that be fun. Anyway, here's the timelapse:

https://youtube.com/shorts/wfaOL1PZ_N4

That's actually all for the stickers! I was really happy with how they came out and so thankful to all my viewers for their support during the subathon! It was absolutely insane and I couldn't have done it without them that's for sure.

Tune in next week for new art! If you're interested, I do draw on stream every Tuesday and you can even claim free artwork if you get enough channel points! We also play lots of interactive games so come hang out with us on my Twitch channel!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #178: Cute Dino Stickers and a Sippy Surprise! 🦖

Sort:  

Wow, these stickers turned out so cool! 'm sure ToastedToasterTV will love them. The Pepega toaster is truly hilarious, and the story behind it adds so much personality to it. Good luck with your art and streams!😉

aw you're too kind, thank you so much!! :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48