HOW I STARTED TO SELL MY PAINTINGS - MY JOURNEY

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Girl-05.jpg

Hi steemians, I want to share my experience with you as to how I finally decided to start selling my paintings and brand myself.
I hope this inspires at least one soul to not to care about anything and follow their passion and do what they love and the purpose of this post would be fulfilled.

I would like to start with I USED TO be that person who used to look at posts and videos like this and be like but I don't think I can.Little did I know that I WAS SO WRONG. NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE IF YOU WORK HARD TOWARDS IT, AND TAKE THE FIRST STEP TOWARDS IT.Instead of looking at the long way you have to go and not trying.I know it can be hard and intimidating but the moment you cross that line trust me you're gonna be so happy no matter what the hurdle is or what you have to do it wont seem that bad cause you love what youre doing.

I was a person who used to be very insecure about my skills.I always felt it was never good enough or compared myself to others.But never really saw that I'm unique and a person with lesser experience.And always was afraid of displaying my work, again cause I felt they weren't good enough.

Apart from all that negativity every time I painted something it would make me so happy and make me forget about the world.It was and still my escape from reality, my stress buster.

I always wanted to make a career out of it but had MILLIONS of things that I feared in my head, that would haunt me.And so I thought it was never an option.I've watched videos of how people started selling their paintings or sketches and was always inspired.But never had the courage to do it or even try to do it. Once after I completed a painting I posted on social media as a story ( Because it lasts only for a day, scared people would judge me by my mistakes).The response I got to that was AMAZING and It felt good to be appreciated for your work.And later posted one more work of mine and the response I got gave me the confidence to create a page to post my work. I prayed every single day as to figure out my career and to love my job (was going through a rough patch at work, hated my boss so in turn hated my work to an extent work felt like hell).And slowly every day I felt everything was unwinding slowly.

Logo-11.png

I decided to have a logo for me

IMG_2168.jpg
Started my Instagram account

The response has been overwhelming after and growing slowly. Once when I was playing around with one of my work on illustrator, I realised I didn't have to stop with just painting I could digitalise it a bit and sell prints of it.And that's when I believed if I worked hard enough towards it I could make a career out of it.And the best part every step through this journey of realisation made me so happy! And i'm looking forward to it!

This was my journey I just got started and I hope it inspires atleast one person and the purpose of this post is fulfilled!

Have a blissfulday! And Godbless!


FOR MORE POSTS LIKE THIS UPVOTE,RESTEEM AND FOLLOW @tamaramariadavey


Sort:  

Love the logo Tamara and I'm glad you took that first big step, continue to work hard and success will follow. All the best girl, also I love your Art work :)

Nice paintings on your insta page. Do you give a title to your paintings?

Btw, do you have any website where people can check your collection and buy online as well?

Thank you! I should start giving it a title, thanks for the feedback, really means alot! For now, it's only on insta , will post the link as soon as I open the website!

You have a nice new story here and i will congratulate you on work well done but is not easy for some of us here and we will take much from your experience and work hard towards our goal.

Loading...

@tamaramariadavey you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76