Pieter Lategan Title: I Can’t See Now More Medium: A4

in #art4 years ago


Medium: A4 HB Pencil This picture I got from the internet which I redraw.  An artwork from Kenyon Cox (27 October 1856 - 17 March 1919). He was an American painter, illustrator, muralist, writer, and teacher. 

He studied at several art institutions, and then move to Paris in 1877. While he was in Europe he travels throughout France and Italy and sees the works of the Renaissance Masters. In 1982 he moved to New York and continued to paint.  He started doing illustrations to pay the bills. 

Kenyon became well established as a magazine illustrator and his work reached a much wider audience than his paintings. He also wrote art criticisms for the New York Evening Post. This also helped him to make a living.  He became later an influential and important teacher at the Art Students League of New York.  He designed the logo of the Art Students League.  

In 1903 he became a full Academician. Cox’s art was very different from the cubist, neo-impressionist, fauvist, expressionist and modernist styles that emerged during his lifetime.  He advocated careful drawing and modulated color, and he frequently used allegory and symbolism to present his ideas.  Kenyon Cox painted in a realistic manner and earned a reputation for landscapes, portraits, and genre studies. 

So what is allegory?  It is a metaphor in which a character, place or event is used to deliver a broader message about real-world issues and occurrences.  Allegory has occurred widely throughout history in all forms of art, largely because it can readily illustrate or convey complex ideas and concepts in ways that are comprehensible or striking to its viewers, readers, or listeners. Many allegories use personifications of abstract concepts.   

In 1893 Cox began to focus more on mural paintings, he also made numerous mosaics for places like the Wisconsin State Capitol building.  

What do I think about my sketch which I draw from his artwork?  It is for me a new topic because it is nude.  I not really into figure drawings but would like to explore it more.  The on the right-hand side is good and the feet are ok.  What I found when I draw this drawing of Cox’s is that he uses dark lines to highlight outer parts of the body.   I personally think it is good and worth to show for other people. 

Music I listen to: Love me Like you Do -  Ellie Goulding (2015) - 

Source: Wikipedia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64