The Cloak: Drawing step-by-step with animation

in #art6 years ago

thecloaktopper.jpg
Presented here is a step-by-step of The Cloak drawing I recently finished.

The Cloak is part of The Realm of the Ritual Masters project I just started!
An interactive multimedia story/comic/adventure where YOU decide where the story goes next. Take a look and leave a comment, it would be greatly appreciated!

cloak1.jpg
I had the idea for this drawing for about a week and it was not coming together. I had originally planned a more literal approach to the way the cloak appears in the story, pinned open by the tusks. I ended up going for a more symbolic image in the end since the cloak is a big part of the world and story.

cloak2.jpg
After my initial sketch I went over it with red pencil to finalize the image overall and tighten it up a bit.

cloak3.jpg
Next I used tracing paper to ink the piece using Isograph pens. I generally only ink on tracing paper if the final piece is going to be primarily digital.

cloak4.jpg
the final inks. Once done I scanned them in and used photoshop to add a lot of texture, using a lot of different brushes and layering techniques. I also added some screen tones for shading as well, the small dots you often see shading in comics.

cloakfullnew2.jpg
I am pretty happy with the final piece. I think it captures the ancient mystery of the cloak. Open it in a new window to see it much larger.

cloakhalfanimation.gif
Here is an animation showing some of the steps I took in photoshop to reach the final piece.

Thanks for looking!
Once again please take a look at The Realm of the Ritual Masters if you get a chance! I would love some more interaction and feedback on this project!

Sort:  

Amazement drawing @terrorfirma, has many details what I like

Awesome concept! :)

Congratulations @terrorfirma! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @terrorfirma! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66