[Interpret my pictures] What story do they tell you?

in #art6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Thought i'd try something different out today. As a self examination i want to see if you can guess my the memoir these pictures are based off of. These were done in my senior year of high school as an English project, most people wrote an essay or made a scrapbook but i wanted to try something different!
If you don't have a guess at a book i'd love to hear what you think of when you see these!

#1
IMG_4402.jpg

#2

#3
_U0A7825.jpg

Hope everyone is having a good day

-thealeksgreen

Sort:  

I think your first photo listed is my favorite. For me, it calls to mind an interesting dichotomy between a ladder and a prison. The bars are close together, so one instantly thinks of containment. On the other hand, just one more second of thought will show that the bars are horizontal: Perhaps this structure isn't meant to hold you down, but rather for some ascension? The hidden features of the face do no help to ease the ambiguity. The contrast of potential meaning is why it is my favorite (also, kudos for wearing a white n' black barred shirt, it helps the viewer to slow down and pick up all the details while still being relevant to the rest of the photo).

As for the second one, it instantly reminded me of my trip to the Holocaust museum in Washington D.C., truth be told. It isn't hard to imagine seeing this piece in a Holocaust remembrance gallery, with the numbers not unlike the serial tattoos the many persecuted were forced to bear in concentration camps. And with the blood... For me, that only seals this photo as being interpreted with a negative connotation.

Last but not least, this photo reminds me of a time when my little sister used to hate brushing her hair in the morning, haha :) I thought the shadow kinda looked like an upside down hairbrush. Brings back memories of my sibling needing the rat's nest on top of her head straightened out.

First of all awesome review! Second of all thanks for spending the time to analyze the pictures! You hit a lot of points on why this was made and I could tell you were certainly paying attention! ;) I think you were the first person to ever bring the shirt into the mix which I applaud you cause it was intentional. Feel free to offer your take on any of my post i'd love to hear what you have to say! :)

I upvoted and resteemed your post so you will get more upvotes. If my upvote didn't work it's because my voting power is too low right now.

Very powerful work @thealeksgreen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63