Art - NOIR HERO (showing step by step process) - Tutorial

in #art6 years ago

Hello people! Today I will be sharing with you something very detailed. A step by step guide and tutorial for one of my drawings. It was my first post here but without a process (it took some time to see how other people are posting, formats, etc) . The process in this one was amazing and amusing a ton for me!

I drew this on PC from scratch, started with an ugly sketch at first, but I guess the idea was in place. All was done in Photoshop software with a help of my little cheap drawing pad that I've grown to love so much over the time, I use it as a mouse-pad too :D Never know when I'm gonna draw!

Okay, let's start with the final piece :D Actually there are some steps in here that I love even more than the final result, but that's just me...

08.jpg

Okay, now let's talk about the process, I literally can't wait for this one:

01.jpg

Okay, so this little ugly set of lines was an initial placeholder sketch that I used to draw over it in a separate layer above it. It looks like nothing at all, but the image in my head was really clear so I went on with them lines...

02.jpg

Boom, second phase! I myself was really surprised with the direction of this one, even this early. Those are the new lines and the firs sketch is now deleted, all of this is now in one layer...

03.jpg

Okay, so here i was like funk it, lemme do the shadows in black on those lines right away and put some more after I colored it, all in one layer too...

04.jpg

So here are the final lines with shadows where I decided it was detailed enough to splash some colors on it!!!

05.jpg

Colors! Finally, just plain colors added in a separate layer below the one with them lines.

06.jpg

Some dark shadows here and some light too above the layer with colors and below the one with lines, just in the middle of it all...

07.jpg

Work, work, work... As the Orcs from Warcraft 3 would say... Added some good old plain strong white accents to make the light more awesome and accented.. This layer is right below the lines....

08.jpg

And.... Kaboom! Final one with lights arranged in a separate layer below the one with accented white.

Hope you like it, it was really exciting doing this Noir guy illustration! If you have any questions I will answer them. Hope to see you people again soon and till then have an awesome time!

Sort:  

Love it, this kind of art is tailor-made for the month of October... my horror comics lie in waiting : ) Upvoted + followed.

Thank you! Your profile is awesome btw :D

This is so awesome! I love the detail and the way you rendered the face. Great job :)

Thank you! Really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98