Creating my first Unity game

in #art8 years ago (edited)

When I was in my second year of my current studies we had to create a game inside Unity. Unity is a game engine, where you throw in 3d objects and let them interact with each other. Since this was my first game I wanted to keep it simple.

I started modeling the island first and created the windmill next along with some small assets. There is a fence, a little box and grass to which is all made in Maya. I then textured everything and imported it into Unity. The clouds you see in the level are just sprites being emitted into the scene. The tree I created with the Unity tree creator. I think I spent around 6 weeks creating this... When you learn it all starts out slow.

Did you reckognize the reference?

Of course you did, I got my inspiration from the Gorillaz video clip. Feel Good Inc. (@ 2:36)

I should really recreate a visual effects version of this with my current skills.

I don't remember what grade I got :)

Sort:  

Great work! When I was studying game design and production we were using unreal engine and maya to get our projects done. I sometimes still have nightmares about UV unwrapping haha

Yes UV unwrapping is hell.

He who wishes to secure the good of others has already secured his own.

What do you call a nosy pepper? -JALAPENO BUSINESS!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 4.5 and reading ease of 85%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73