Ocean Dusk - A New Pseudo-Abstract Digital Painting

in #art7 years ago

Ocean Dusk


Here's another piece I created on Corel Painter 18.

The Inspiration For This

I love the way water can take on so many colours.

In this case I was thinking of how the ocean can sometimes take on a distinctly green tinge. I thought a yellowish sky tone (as one might see as dusk approaches) complements the green tones quite well.

I know it is not necessarily technically correct in terms of the colours that one would see at that time but I just like the combination.

I also like the way the simulated brush hairs create lines here - this is mainly due to the use of the oil brushes in Corel Painter 18.

I hope you like it. Also (as I usually say) feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  

I absolutely love this abstract - the subtle progression of colours from dark cucumber to lime green to the peach tone of a sunset sky. It is very reminiscent of the sea and makes me long for those wild seascapes. Beautiful...

Thanks so much. You are always so kind :)

looks very neat!

looks like an inverted version of the ocean
well.. that is .. cause I'm thinking of the shore first :D

Nice piece of work ! Really represents what it looks like when you look at the sea.

I was really inspired by your talent of the last one , and this one , it's amazing . Great talent and work you have , don't ever give it up @thecryptofiend

Really? That is very kind I am just experimenting to see what I can come up with so your words are really encouraging!

Art is a talent , sometimes no one but you will understand the real meaning behind art work , but keep going :)

The yellow and the green do go really well together hand in hand. I guess they would be complimentary but I don't have the sharpest nor greatest intuitive eye to pick out good colour combinations.

I agree that it does look like a body of water. I'm at the coastline looking over at the ever expanding mass of water. It fading and going to a lighter tone as it merges with the pale, sun dyed background.

You are getting better and better with this digital painting work @thecryptofiend. Keep up the great work buddy! :)

Thank you so much!

It's like looking on a dangerous-looking body of water but with a color twist.

Yes, your green colors are reflected in reality. I see these shades of greens often in canals and ponds in Thailand. The yellow seems like the reflection of the leaves on the trees by the river bank. Cheers.

Awesome artwork, you are indeed talented :)

Looks really good, looks like an ocean :)

Very interesting. The details on the water brought me to another place.

We just resteemed this and you are now at the Steemit Gallery of Art. Discover more :) You may be rewarded.
See you there at #SGoA
avatar square.jpg


I finally included your artwork in the first exhibition of the SGoA. Come and have a look!

1st ex small.png


I like it, but I think you should try it on a big canvas (when you never tried it before)

It's so much fun :-) especially with high class paints like Old Holland, Michael Harding or Vasari.

OMG I fee I have to paint, when I write about it

:-D

Thanks. Yes I really need to get back into painting for real - it is a lot easier than doing it on computer and the results (for me when I used to do it) were a lot better. I just don't have the space right now but hopefully won't be too long until I can get my own house with a proper space for doing art.

Hmm I know what you mean... An own atelier would be amazing or at least a small extra room. I paint just with selfmade sub thickened oil most of the time and in my room. Its a quite big one. For glazes I have a balcony.

I keep my fingers crossed for you and that you get your house soon :-)

Will probably be a long time as I am just getting back to real work and will be some time before I can afford it.

And I should try paint digital one day.

You should - I think some people do really amazing work with it but for me the hardest part is that you are not actually looking where you are drawing - it seems to screw up the hand eye co-ordination for me. Plus the pen that you have to use is nothing like a brush and it can't replicated the different shapes that different pens, pencils and brushes have as a physical object. There is one pen and you use it for all brush sizes and types so you lose a lot of the feel of actually using a particular type of brush or pen. The advantages are that it is much cheaper, cleaner and you can mix all kinds of materials that would be impossible in real life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65