Broken Brain Tour Artwork

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! Wanted to share some recent artwork as I haven't had a gig this enjoyable in a while. This fell into my lap when @asonintrigue asked me if I could help out after his drawing pad went south. He needed artwork for a flyer as he's about to go on tour (which you should definitely check out if you can!!!) This is the best kind of work because I wanted to take inspiration from his unique art style- while knowing I had the space to experiment and ultimately turn it into my own piece of work. What was supposed to only take a few hours- became an all night experience that became more and more enjoyable to work on.

All I needed to do was draw the artists on tour and some band-aides and Ason would put together the rest of the flyer together. The only specific note I got was "they need to look like they were in a fight." Perfect. All my artwork was done in Photoshop using reference images of each artist. I tried to challenge myself with my brush choices as I didn't want this to look like my usual work. I opted to fight my instincts to force myself a bit out of my comfort zone. I normally stay away from sponge textures and almost never use comic style line work. This seemed an odd choice as I was inspired by the sketched, loose, punk vibe of Ason's work. Basically, spongy texture and clean comic lines sounded like a weird mix so I went with it. Hope you like and please be sure to check the links under each of their portraits.


https://soundcloud.com/doofthagodd


https://soundcloud.com/asonintrigue


https://soundcloud.com/blackliq

Also, check out the finished flyer! Ason did a great job of tying everything together. Ended in another successful collaboration:

I'd go to this show if I saw it in my city. You should too if you're nearby!

Sort:  

Great job on the artwork! I have nominated your post to the @OCD Curators!

Wow, I didn't see this until just now. Thank you!!

i keep hearing about you...

Wait, me?

I keep hearing about you too actually...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by AsonIntrigue from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

cool stuff bud!

Really appreciate it. Thanks for commenting!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94