My tattoo of La Catrina!

in #art7 years ago

Hey friends....

When you think of the word "art" what do you think of? This is such an open ended question and could be answered in many different ways. Art is a major form of expression and can have a large impact on ones behavior and ways of life. What kinds of art do you like? A painting of "Starry Night", a sculpture, photography, a cluster of colorful houses in a desolate town. I love ink... getting tattoos. When I was young I told myself you cannot put bumper stickers on a McLaren!

Now that I have aged, I have decided that getting tattoos is my form of expression as well as art. I now have 8 tattoos and each of them mean something special to me, they represent who I am. My most recent tattoo is my big girl tattoo with 12 hours of work (4 hours each visit)and it is not completed yet. I have decided to cover a tattoo in creating something more beautiful. Do you have tattoos? Are you addicted like I am? Do you have a favorite tattoo? Do you want a tattoo, but can't come to terms in getting one? I have decided to show you photos of my tattoo which is a "Catrina", a symbol of the Mexican heritage involving the celebration of the dead. I hope you like it!

There is a great write up explaining Las Catrinas Mexicanas here.

Session 1: doing the outline of the new tattoo, covering the old one! Not much pain
Catrina1.jpg

Session 2: shading in the hair of the Catrina (sugar skull) very painful
Catrina2.jpg

Session 3: Shading more of her beautiful hair while adding purple highlights! very painful
Catrina3.jpg

Session 4: Shading in the rest of her hair and finishing highlights! very painful
Catrina4.jpg

Shading in the rose and adding color... super painful
Catrina5.jpg

The tattoo still needs the face shaded white and color added to the face to truly represent La Catrina!

Enjoy the read and thanks for viewing!

Sort:  

Hi

TB1GA8VMpXXXXauXFXXYXGcGpXX_M2.jpg

For supporting Minnows, @whalegonewild is the new project
started that upvotes the minnow posts, for more details visit @whalegonewild.

First upvote is for free.

For any query contact at below discord channel,
https://discord.gg/AMC45h2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56