2018 A Year of Peculiar Artwork, I'll Admit

in #art5 years ago

I'm sure that mental sanity must be a great thing for those who have it, but the rest of us have a lot more fun, as can be seen in the following images.

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.34.12 PM.png

Welcome to the highlights of the 2018 collection of @therealpaul

This is some of the artwork that I made for this page during 2018, and I've decided to share the best bits of it here again as a recap.

I started the year with a few diagrams showing how things might work, attempting to draw a picture of why we're here.

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.30.53 PM.png

Another diagram drawing, this one showing how a solar heat engine works;

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.32.07 PM.png

The next drawing illustrates what might happen if humans drank gorilla milk instead of cow milk, and is taken from an article about gorilla cheese sandwiches, wherein I asked; Why don't we drink gorilla milk? The article wasn't well-received, as I recall.

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.33.32 PM.png

I drew myself drawing a celery:

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.32.36 PM.png

There were some sad times in 2018 too, as can be seen in this color pencil drawing:

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.33.10 PM.png

There was horror in 2018 too, as the menacing Grator was shown doing what he does best-- grating vegetables:

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.34.38 PM.png

This year I wrote about a cat with mirrored fur for its camo gear:

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.35.04 PM.png

... and how, when I was little, I tried to teach the people in my dreams how to fly:

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.35.26 PM.png

A few more drawings from 2018 before we go;

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.36.34 PM.png

land surveyor, surveying the land



Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.36.57 PM.png

Walter



Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.37.27 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.38.09 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.38.35 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.39.31 PM.png

Jed Man- Superhero with bitchin steem gun



Screen Shot 2018-12-24 at 3.39.56 PM.png

Bigfoot easily hides behind statue of Venus



That's the highlights of this year's artwork, all exclusive to the STEEM blockchain, all original.

For those who have had a sane, normal year so far, I hope this gallery of peculiarities can bring some entertainment and joy, and through the images, may your year now be a little better, if not stranger than before. Congratulations if you made it past the gorilla cheese sandwiches, Merry Christmas, and have a happy new year!


IMG_4721.jpg

thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

These artworks were truly fantastic! Some of your best work, in my honest and unbiased opinion, brother!

My greatest work ever is included in this collection, but I didn't dare give away his secret identity.

I'll give it away for you. Here it is!

Sorry for the spoiler, everyone! The mic, or in this case the brush, has just been dropped. Boom!

Excellent stuff you got here.

Here's to another year of peculiar artwork. :)

Thank you! This wasn't all of the stuff that was created, but there was just no time-- next year!

Peculiar indeed!!

Awesome. Those are really great. I like Walter and the cat. The gorilla is interesting hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yes 'interesting' is a good word to describe the gorilla.

Interesting artwork Paul. I have to say I like your tree of life in a cell dividing towards the bottom two paintings above Jed Man. Ying Yang tree of life? I'm guessing that is what it is.

I'm not sure what inspired the tree drawing, it probably suggests correspondence like as above so below, but yin yang sounds good too!

The cover image was the first thing I saw and it woke me up proper as I was partially asleep at the time but the phone was letting me know it was probably time to get up as it had come out if bedtime mode 🤣

You have a decent variety of styles 😮

Happy silly season 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

That image is probably not the best thing to wake up to, but at least you are wide awake now!

interesting year this one was for sure :)
Merry Christmas 🎅🎄🎁

Just absolutely amazing man.

Inspiring 💓

Thank you! Glad you liked it-- we'll see what next year brings.

Yeah, i need to recalibrate somehow...

Love the duality tree bear the end!

I think there were some photos of a sliced apple that originally went with this drawing, showing the seeds in the center instead of the tree, so from seed to tree to fruit and back to tree, infinite life within the duality. Something like that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82