👁‍🗨DEEP DREAM - GIF Generator and Deep Dream Video

in #art6 years ago

DEEP DREAM
and GIF Generator

dream_3flsdknnd1n-good200.jpg

my latest “Deep Dream”, created from a black and white version of my portrait, using my signature painting Self Portrait with the Critical Eye as a style

right click and select 'open in new tab' to view larger size

Deep Dream
Deep Dream Image created for use in a video
Of late I had made use of the

Deep Dream Generator quite often. It is almost addictive, once you get started. I had been trying it when it first was introduced. At that time, it was a simple site with basically one Deep Dream style. I think I found the site via an article like this:
Google robots dream up crazy psychedelic pictures using 'inceptionism' AI neural networks. Trying it out, I was hooked! For a time after that, I was not using the site and found when accessing it again, you had to create a account and log in. It is still free to use, but vastly improved since its early days over 3 years ago. Because now, in addition to pre-set styles, you can upload your own styles as well.

Deep Dream and GIF
GIF created with Deep Dream Images and Photoshop

I blogged about this, as well as a GIF Creator Program 2 years ago:

DEEP DREAM AND GIF CREATOR.
At that time, I had combined photoshop images of my portrait with Deep Dream and created a GIF using this GIF GENERATOR WEBSITE

Making animated GIF images is a little complicated in Photoshop, so when I was looking for a tutorial, I found this website where it is easy to create animated GIF: all you have to do is upload your images, select the parameters and voila, done! This one here is also my first test, using images I had on hand (some of which were photo-shopped, some previously created in Deep Dream).



A SELECTION OF MY DEEP DREAM IMAGES
to view more, check my page on the Deep Dream Website

dream_t2kc4uufn2m (3).jpgConversion of my drawing FOMORII GENERAL

dream_zy1tpkwwwig.jpg
Conversion of my painting YOUNG BOGOMIL

dream_gtolrmg6p3z.jpg I thought this one worked out extremely well - myself in Hawaii, 1995, at a Luau

dream_n92nnz40n4m.jpg a abandoned house in a small Serbian village

dream_qdjqwwc0zn5.jpg
with my friend Liba in Paris

dream_8z5wl186x0z.jpg
the ultimate Donald - his hair has a life of its own!

dream_8qrwd71alzp.jpg a close-up of my eye - see video below


and finally, the "pièce de résistance" a video I created with Deep Dream Images
THE ARTISTS EYE



....... and here is another video, where I went totally off the rails and got extremely silly - at the end, it uses progressions of a Deep Dream - OTTO FREAK
Warning: Mindbogglingly stupid content!



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

february2013-3-monkeys.jpg
Boris Koller - Otto Rapp - Peter Gric
photo by Sabina Nore, February 2013

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna
I post many of my blogs under the tag #steemit-austria


About my Work

Sort:  

Some really cool effects! Very trippy :)

its a fun pastime when I don't feel like doing any serious work in the studio. But within this play, there are germs of ideas that may find themselves into paintings.

Yeah I can imagine @thermoplastic those effects are really inspiring to come up with new ideas! :)

looks like a journey into the mind and then even deeper???!!! very mystical !

Thank you Spiderman! You get started with that, there is no quitting!

Whoa, very trippy and the colour it generates, cool.

the ones with lots of color were mostly from my own styles I uploaded.

Oh, damn, one more thing that could easily take me away from what I have to do :D
Results are very impressive, though. I'll give it a try as soon as I manage to get some more time :D
Thanks for sharing :)

haha, same here - I should be in the studio painting!

So the deep dream generator (what a lavishly fancy name for a program!) has a feature where you can add your own artwork as the style? I wonder how exactly it calculates what the style is.... maybe I'll try it out again, but having too much fun with painting at the moment. (The next one is around the corner!)

Love that photo of you, @gric and Boris. :)

@anibas - Deep Dream: you have to create a account, bu it is free. When there, click on Generate (top right). First you upload the picture you want to put an effect on. Then there are 3 choices: Deep Style, Thin Style and Deep Dream. The Deep Dream is the original one with all the weird creepy-crawly things. If you click on Deep Style, under Default Styles, click on the left square with the up arrow to upload your own style. I tried many different ones, it is a hit and miss, trial and error. After a while you find out which work best (and best for what you want to work on - be it a portrait or a scenery, for example).
The Deep Dream is fast and easy, you click and it converts in less than a minute (depending how many are in queue), but with your own style, it can last up to 10 Minutes.
On Deep Dream, in Default Style, you can go several levels deep, making it weirder and weirder with each click.
Test it out, it should not take as much time away from your regular work. The resulting images are however not very large - just good for posting on the internet.
But I have successfully converted some in Photoshop from 96dpi to 200dpi and still got a good image - and with one abstract piece, I mirrored it several times and then even used it for a fabric design on a print-all-over hoodie.

Thanks Otto! I already have an account. I first tried this years ago, then a while back, I think it was @twirble's birthday, I used it again, but I didn't explore ALL the possibilities.

I like this freaky side of you always finding some new ways to play and create. Resteemed.

Yes, freakishness is, generally speaking, hugely underestimated.

thanks @mira13 - there are times when I am preoccupied with something like this, then other times I let it idle and do something else. But I am always shoulder to shoulder with my freaky side, whatever I do. Can't help it, it's in my nature.

What so amazing work, the effects with colors are simply amazing, I love them all, nice tittle too, the deep dream... The gift generator, omg, i needed one hahah, your work is amazing, greetings from Venezuela, I started to follow your art :)

thank you, you ought to try it - explore what all you can do on both Deep Dream and the GIF generator. Particularly with the GIF, I tried many, and that is the very best by far (also the only one without annoying branding), so I did the "homework" for you already!

These are great. I think you ad the genrator were destined to find each other. ;) i love that you put our photo through too. <3..resteemed

yes, we look so cute! I got several versions of thatdream_ijliadvuvqz.jpg

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

An interesting program! I see it for the first time. I'll try to use this program too. Thanks for the info.

thanks, yes, try it out, lots of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87