You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CANADIAN WHALE painting 2012

in #art6 years ago (edited)

this is a interesting piece about whales - did you see some? May is the best time for whale watching.
about the black bears: a bit of exaggeration on your friends part - they are not very dangerous unless with young. I got a photo where I got so close you can see the mosquitoes buzzing around its head. Eating grass: they were likely looking for dandelions and other herbs. But for grizzlies, you have to watch out.
upvoted and resteemed, shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1051581096079581189

Sort:  

Thanks Otto! I didn´t see them on that trip unfortunately! I really wanted to but wasn´t lucky.
The bears I did see and Carol, my friend wasn´t exaggerating! the bears were with their cubs each time we met them, so distance was necessary. The ones in the pic I shared was a mother and her cub. Anyway! see you soon!

about whales: got nothing to do with luck. it was the wrong season.

SH109958ps-crp-web1600.jpg ◄right click open in new tab to zoom
Waterton, June 2007 - she had cubs with her, photo taken from close in, she was munching dandelions on the side of the road.
When I approached, she hid the cubs in the bushes; always kept an eye on me but kept on grazing.

SH109950web1600.jpg◄ right click open in new tab to zoom
a while later, some cars came, that's when she grabbed the cubs and took off, up the hill. In short distance, they can outrun a horse. If they decide to attack, you don't stand a chance. But they would only if you come between them and the cubs, or if you are considered a threat - depends how you act, I guess - but by and large, animals like me - I got close quite a few times to all kinds of wildlife there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81