Nemesis

in #art6 years ago

Back in the early 90's I went to see an exhibition of 3 local artists in my old highschool of all places. These were established artists, working in the field of magical realism and fantasy art. I was fascinated by what I saw there and I think it was a pivotal moment in my life where I decided I wanted to become an 'artist'.

I tried drawing at first, then tried painting and sculpting in clay. I wasn't any good at any of those things.

Someone suggested metal.

I had just started working in the family blacksmithing business, hammering and welding steel all day, so the last thing I wanted to do was work with metal after hours, but then one saturday I went into the shop and made something non-functional and an idea started to grow.

I wanted to make a knight. Not the traditional armour, but something with a bit of a fantasy twist. And why not make it a female form? I had absolutely no idea how to do this, but logic said I should start with a wireframe and then take it from there.

It took a year and a half because, like I said, I had no idea what I was doing. I was using steel, some bits of aluminum and copper. My dad had just taught me how to work with copper so I incorporated that into the sculpture as well.

There were mistakes, but nothing that couldn't be fixed or that were too bad. I slowly seemed to get the hang of it and I liked what I was creating.

So in 1996 I made this...

nemesis3.jpg

I named her 'Nemesis'.

She's still here and despite numerous requests, she is not and never will be for sale. She was the first of the Asylum series and I walk past her every day. She is not perfect and I see the little mistakes I made and which I have learned from. I don't think I'll ever make one like this again. She's quite unique, even in the Asylum series.

Those 3 artists... One became a good friend, one became a mentor and the third one... well, let's not go there.

But that's where it all started...

Sort:  

I've never thought to ask about your back story. I guess it's assumed you just start creating.

Well, I don't know your back story either, or even why you moved to Europe. ;)

If I tell you, I'll have to kill you! ;-)

Short answer, you have what we (Australians) don't have, we have what you don't have.

Longer answer, firstly, a life long dream, experiencing my cultural roots, secondly, a perception of greater opportunity for my chosen direction in art than in Australia.

I have also since been informed by a professional artist manager of 20+ years, that I made the right decision. It is mandatory for Australian artists to have travelled and lived abroad before they are given a break.

I was initially inspired by artists who took very unconventional paths in their careers. I have even sold my artwork on street corners and in subzero temperatures.

Being one of those kids that always saw themselves as an artist, I had much resistance from my parents, who attempted to pressure me into more sensible career choices. But my will is one that is not to be blocked.

I was tangled up in the digital and electronic world of creativity for some years, doing visuals for international music acts such as the Mad Professor and Lee Scratch Perry, and computer games.

But the siren of painting always called to me.

Wait, yes, I remember us talking about that one time when we visited you in Berlin. As I recall there were also unpayed parking tickets in Australia involved, right? ;)

What a beautiful and touching story about your path through creativity and art. The sculpture piece is beautiful and feminine, but somehow scary.

Thank you. That was what I was going for at the time. ;)

You have real skills in sculpture.Great, great shapes for a first sculpture. I know how difficult it's to create something credible with separate metal parts. Thanks to show and to tell us some snatches of your path.
I know too that the photo is just a point of view and ca,nt reveal the reality, maybe the default are in others sides :-)

Thank you. This was in the pre-digital photography days, so it's a scan of photo and the resolution isn't that great. And I guess most people wouldn't see the mistakes, but trained eyes like ours would. ;)

this is the stuff that I love - the dark, mysterious ....... if I wasn't a draftsman and painter, something like this is what I would do in sculpture. I do know how to weld, it was my day job, lol - and when I was on night shift and nobody there to supervise, we did fool around with scrap metal from the rail repair shop I worked at. Rail car parts such as broken knuckles (and other coupling parts, chains, cut rail, broken tools etc) were great for making stuff with. We also had scrap car loads come through, and would help ourselves to parts, such as chisel-plow pieces to weld onto rebar making a dragon once. Eventually, one of our guys put it onto a steel gate on his property.

I wish I made enough money to afford this one! :o
I just visited your website. Ta série de Roboville et Asylum sont superbe! Ça serait bien de voir ton travail exposé au Canada!

This is so amazing. Are you still doing metal work today?

Yes I am. I'm a professional blacksmith and metalsculptor and intend to stay one for as long as my back holds. :P

Congratulations @timroosen, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3193 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $323.38. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow, I had to stop and read. This is an amazing story and piece of art. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting.

👏🏻👏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85