"Once In A Blue Moon": The Rare and Unlikely

in #art6 years ago

“Once in a Blue Moon”

The 3-page foldout cover below was illustrated for my issue of the Harvard Lampoon, the nation’s oldest continually published humor magazine and Harvard College’s most renowned publication group. The theme of my issue was “Once In A Blue Moon#”, drawing on all that is unlikely, rare, or even non-existent.

_13.png
The finished cover, in digital form

20180602_165456.jpg
The finished cover, in magazine form

33622846_10156387915864819_3280558435149545472_n.jpg

I’ve been an undergraduate artist for the Harvard Lampoon for more than two years, now, and this piece is one of my proudest creations. It depicts, with fantasy and innocence, unlikely creatures witnessing the phases of the moon in the backdrop, arching over the entire panorama. Below is the process.

Process

_1.png
The initial sketches and concept. As you can see, it changed drastically!

_2.png
Making progress on the initial sketches (soon to be scrapped...)

_3.png
I didn't like the original concenpt. Something felt off, so I scrapped it and started anew!

_4.png
Blocking in the background

_5.png
Adding in the dark, shadow values

_6.png
Some lines to clarify for the forms

_7.png
Added some light to the moons, giving them their phases

_8.png
Cleaned up the lines

_9.png
Slight color adjustment

_10.png
Fleshed out the characters

_11.png
Added in the title header

_12.png
I felt like there needed to be an overarching and funny phenomenon/rare event to accentuate the "once in a blue moon" factor. Thus, I added a catastrophic meteor crashing into the scene

_13.png
Finishing touches

Closing Note

I hope it was enjoyable to take a look into this process, and I look forward to posting more content on Steemit! Feel free to follow more of my works on my instagram and my website.

Best,
Teddy

Sort:  

Hello @tninh, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87