The Art Of Lure Making

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20170330_155801.jpeg

There is no greater thrill to me then catching fish on lures that I have made from scratch. I never considered myself an artist until I made my first lure and actually caught fish with it. There is no bigger critic then a fish, because if your offering is not realistic or has the wrong action they will tell you really quick by not biting.

The first step is to pick out the kind of material you would like to use. I use basswood or balsa for most of my lures. The next step is to carve out the shape that you want your lure to be. I try to make lures based on the forage in the lakes I fish. Once I get the basic shape I sand it with a heavy sand paper first, then progressively finer paper until its ready for painting. I then drill the holes for the eyes using a power drill on low speed.

20170312_203248.jpg

The next step is to figure out how much weight and in what position in the body of the lure. I hang a fixed amount of weight on the hook hangers and test the sink rate in a pool. I then add or subtract weight based on how fast i want the particular lure to sink. I then drill holes in those spots and add the weight to the interior of the lure. I then fill the hole with a wood dowl the size of the hole, cut it off, and sand it flush.

20170306_224230.jpg

Once everything is smooth again I get out the airbrush and custom paint the lure to match the forage in my area. Big bass love rainbow trout, especially the dumb trout stocked in our lakes that have been hand fed there entire life. Once that dries for a day I add a layer of 5 min cure clear epoxy. I brush on the epoxy and then rotate it for about 3 min and the epoxy will dry evenly and will cure fully in about an hour. I usually give it a few days to fully harden

20170316_114846.jpg

20170323_012814.jpg

20180106_183122.jpg

I do practice catch and release on all fish except Salmon, which are going to die anyway when returning to the river and I don't eat fish but share them with family,friends, and neighbors.

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Thank you very much I really appreciate it!

Awesome! I have made a couple of lures, but tend to fish store bought ones most of the time. It is great to see these. I would love to see a video of their action in the water. Look like they'll have a nice shimmy at low speed.

What a cool skill!
Looks like a labor of love there.
Do you just make them for yourself, or do you sell them as well?

Thank you very much. Yes I do just make them for myself and do not sell them. Often on heavily pressured lakes showing them something they have never seen or will never see again triggers more bites for me. Thanks again!

Very cool!
Hadnt thought about that, It makes sense that it would trigger more bites.

Congratulations @trebillion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @trebillion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @trebillion! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trebillion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65