Dada.NYC is a great learning experience

in #art6 years ago (edited)

girlface.jpg

I have used digital art programs since freehand in the 90's, and despite some earnest experimentation, and often using photoshop filters, I never really took to using the computer to directly create art. It was not until my brother gave me his old tablet and I was turned onto Dada by steemians that I began to take it seriously.

girl and eye.jpg

This image is called "The Girl and the Eye" a rather failed attempt to create something more beautiful than I currently have the patience for, feeling sick as a dog ; but I am still learning more and more. I used low opacity, ultra-thin lines for the hair and lines of the eyes.
If you look close you can see how wanting my detail work is, lol!

eye.jpg

Answering conversations has led me to learn more and more how other people work; @opheliafu, for example, let me in on how she layers transparent layers over each other; a tactic I have used in the past, but not with the same delicacy and control that she and others do. I become more amazed and appreciative of their work the more I struggle to match styles and forms to continue a conversation. The soft flow of lines, the uniqueness of their ideas and the professionalism inherant in even some of the sillier drawings. It just makes me so happy to have something to aspire to; and to have people whose work I admire inadvertantly "teach" me, new ways to see and express my art.

Here is a piece I submitted last night in response to an untitiled conversation by @reinhard-schmid I feel luky to share the same sky with an artist like him, let alone answer a visual conversation he began. (and hopefully not ruin it)

coversationface.jpg

I elected to match more the mood of the surprised/horrified faces than the style; as the other artists in the conversation each responded in a completely different style. I used the layering of transparencies in a rather wild, nervous, sketchy manner. I found you can create some interesting effects with a larger brush and a very low opacity.

bigmonstereyes.jpg

I am looking forward to learning new tips and tricks from other artists; and hopefully be able to share some as well. Anyone have anything to share about what they have learned on Dada or what they think I could do better with tools/design?
( Oh boy, @juliakponsford just posted something really cool on Dada while I was typing this)

Sort:  

Modern art sometimes takes on very strange at first glance forms. But if there are people who understand this, then this is the right direction. These pictures evoke emotions.

I really enjoyed your drawing and already added my reply to it. Thank you for your contribution, hope to see more :-)

Thank you...in a few days I should start doing it more. Thank you this means alot to me.

I always enjoy the character and emotion in your drawings, i think they are beautiful.

Thank you. All I see is my anxiousness so perhaps that makes me not want to look at my own work as much.
I love your calm lovely lines; if you feel anxious you hide it well in your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71