Figure Drawing Session from a Few Weeks ago

in #art5 years ago

ny4.jpg
I have been going to more figure drawing workshops lately to brush up my skills as an artist. One workshop I keep revisiting is the "Life Drawing Muze" workshop at ArtShareLA in the Los Angeles Arts District; one of the most interesting areas of the city if you ever visit. I really appreciate the effort they put into setting up the scene and the studiousness of the environment. My results are not much to talk about, but a sitting from a few weeks ago was particularly inspiring; and I kept working on the pieces afterwards. There are photos from the poses here.

These are all works in progress but I am done working on them for the time being. Perhaps in the future I will make them presentable enough to show somewhere, or recreate them for such a purpose. Took a bit to get the scanner up and running. The first pose was I think for 10 minutes but I liked the fluid results.

NY1.jpg

This next standing pose was longer, but I rushed it because I thought it was a two minute pose when it was much longer; so it has a bit of a unique feel to it that I like.

ny2.jpg

I wish I had focused in closer on the model as I feel there were missed opportunities with this pose.

ny3.jpg

This last pose was the longest pose with perhaps my most fortunate result because I did not come at it from a nervous place.

ny4.jpg

I have been to a few figure drawing sessions since then but the results were not so good. I am going to try to go every week this month.

Sort:  

Really cool to see how you integrated live figure drawing into your style. The second one is my favorite, I love the shapes in the yellow fabric spilling down from the legs and the way the figure is receding away into darkness a little bit is intriguing

Thank you. I like the second as well, even if it is hard to see. When I started I thought it was a two minute gesture, which accounts for it's unique, flowing look. But it was actually a 20, not a 2 minute pose. Thank you for your support!

The first (respectively the last) pose is my favorite. You did a great job also with her face. I think she is meditating and this is why she looks so happy.

I personally find them a little too dark but this is just a personal opinion. I would love to see the details popping up a little but more (which could also be caused by the photos)

I like the scene where they are set up. The colors make me think of wealth, glamour and the high society..

Thank you for sharing! Have a great start of the week!

Thank you for complements and imput.; They started as studies but became something more. I agree I will need to lighten and bring them forward more before they are fit for showing; a process that is more work than enjoyment as pieces often lose qualities as you try to make them more palatable. That is how it is though I will just have to come back to them. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Thank you both

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10