Moon Jungle Gathering of Elders.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180504_183642_062.jpg

popmoonthree.jpg

On Third Moon of Moptar; Julipipi, the Elders of The Jungle of Mazer meet under the crystal tree of wisdom to hash out the day to day issues. There is no great evil waiting to befall them except in myths they tell their children; of the Man-beast that came through a portal in the mountains and tried to steal all their crystals. But that is just all hokey superstition.

My entrance into the #artexplosion (Sci Fi) competition. I worked with colored pencil, and wax pastel ( fancy crayons basically) on paper. The style is inspired by Peca and Naota Hattori; as well as other pop surrealists.

IMG_20180504_155553313 (1).jpgHere is how the image appears before filters were applied.

Also did a scan of the image but it turned out dark.

Junglemoon.jpeg

I tried various edits of the scan but the photos just look better to me. Thoughts?

Junglemoon1.jpeg

(Edit; I added the Instagram version to the top as it Is more eye catching.)

IMG_20180504_142515993.jpg

Here is my doggy Lola who won't let me get up to make a Steemit post.

Sort:  

amazing work as always, but really liking crystal tree of wisdom , at first glance it seem like some energy being, but when reading the description, I was like oh, great use of color.

I feel observed hahaha! I really like how you work with colors, this excellent!

Oh my I love your creatures so much, always so many eyeballs to look at!

building color up on dark background can be very effective. You could also use black (to the core) matboard which gives you a much more rigid support and lies plane even after rigorous drawing (myself, I work so brutal at times paper just crumbles and disintegrates).
Nice to include Lola, she might be more inclined to let you post if you make her part of it haha

Thanks for the tip; always fun discovering new materials. Lola thanks you to:)

That's a pitbull, they're the tops!

Beautiful. I love those colors. And I really want to hug the hairy Cyclops ♥ And btw, for me it's the dark version...

What a magical surreal world. The instagram edit probably seems eye catching because of the crop maybe? I often crop things in differing ways to see if it improves the composition or it if even gives it a different feel. I had many art teachers who would keep a cut bit of mat board so you could move it around a drawing or piece in class and see should it be cut here or would it be better cropped this way.

I love the colour and the general mood, good luck in the contest. Also, your dog is adorable! Such a sweet face!

Thank you so much! I think it might be a mix of the crop and that the instagram filter gets the blacks right without making everything dark.

Love the way how you brought out the shapes on the dark paper. A little bit like the underpainting technique I use on canvas. Funny you mention Peca.. had an original here in Germany some two years ago for an exhibition.

Compliments, your work keeps getting better and better!

Love Peca. I saw her work at The Laluz De Jesus and Copro galleries here in LA/ Totally fangirled when she liked my instagram post yesterday.

I love your imaginative entry! I know your frustration in trying to get colors of a piece of art to portray correctly. It is difficult sometimes.
Upvoting and following

I love it, wish this art and story combo was an animation I could watch. I am really really digging this!! Sending you a tree tip <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66671.81
ETH 3087.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68