Realism Art - How to Draw a 3D Object

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1999.jpg

Hey everyone Vaan here. Today I'm going be teaching you some really basic realism drawing of a 3D glass. The thing is with realism as long as you do the correct points which I'm going to go over today it's a lot easier than what it seems.

IMG_1968.jpg

The first thing we're gonna do is proportions. There's this saying in art and that draws how it seems not how it is. Basically, our brains are really good at filling in the blank. So if you see a face, for example, you're going to want to draw it. You know head-on but if you're doing realism that's not necessarily how the head looks. You know it has all these turns and twists and shadows and highlights.

IMG_1980.jpg

Step number 2 for the realism side and that is adding pure white highlight. Notice I'm using grey paper instead of like the traditional white and the reason for that is so I like pull out the white highlights. The reason you want to have white and black values in your drawing and everything in between is that's kind of how life is. You know life isn't just two colors two or two shadows. It has black white and everything in between. Always remember to build up your value and shadows and highlights and include everything in between.

IMG_1985.jpg

The next step is adding in your mid-tones. For those of you who might not know what mid-tones are, they are all the values in between black and white. The thing with mid-tones is a bunch of values, but how you get them is by creating them softly and building them up. What that means is, when you're adding mid tones is you want to add some shadows in there and add some highlights to get it all 3-dimensional looking. I'm a 2b charcoal pencil. It's not pure black, it's not pure white it's just a nice in-between and it's really easily blendable. I'm darkening that mid-tone to give it more depth and make it look more 3D and more like a real object.

IMG_1988.jpg

Once I'm done I'm going in to blend. I personally use Roney blending sticks for blending. What I do is I blend out everything that way it will look like an actual shadow and it can look realistic and smooth and give it some texture. I get a white colored pencil and just kind of go over it and that wax from the white colored pencil will spread out the pigment and it will give you a more smooth transition. The next step is adding these little extra shadows and lines and little reflections and things that really bring it to the next level and it'll kind of trick the mind to almost automatically recognizing that it's an object as opposed to a drawing.

IMG_1989.jpg

The last step is casting a soft shadow. It's really important to have a shadow on your drawing and the reason for that is because when the mind looks at an image that has a shadow. The brain automatically assumes that it's 3D and so it gives the illusion that it's an object rather than a two-dimensional piece of paper. That's basically it. I hope you found it useful. Thank you, everyone!



Sort:  

That is really impressive! Thank you for the tutorial ;)
(Upvoted and followed)

Your welcome :)

If I drew like this guy I wouldn't greet people lol just kidding but this is really impressive

wow esta super fantastico

tratare de hacer uno espero pueda quedar igual a tu dibujo, saludos
@vaansteam

Buenisimo!!

Wow you made it so amazing and perfect....it's so realistic thanks for giving the step by step instructions.

Thank you for the compliment

How amazing ! Maybe I shall give this a try :)

Impressive! I'll just do my hands down to you bro such amazing talent of you has to be respected, for I, also an artist in different way i was able to try liked what u did, then i just realized that i'm not as good as yours, anayways i'm just good on design and creativity of making something old thing to a new one my artwork has been display in my previous school. I consider my self as a frustrated artist... So thanks, for your works, for i was able to reminnisced the hobby and my artworks im doing in the past.

Thank you for taking your time to comment. That’s really nice of you. I’m sure you’re also good. Keep going my friend!

Dude, you are one of the best artists/bloggers I have ever seen. I really, truly mean it. Awesome drawing! Bravo!

You're welcome!

Awesome work of art, very realistic painting

Thank you. Really appreciate that.

I like your paintings, You are very talented artist

As it is all brother vaansteam, very good explanation, I will take it into account for my drawings, thank you!

Thank you very much

Great job! I wish i also got a talent like yours. Keep posting such good work of art.

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85