Ma'Mama Lived in Africa [Drawing]

in #art3 years ago

FB_IMG_1631167556033.jpg

It was a long time ago, long before I was born, when my mom lived in Africa. She lived in Conakry, Guinea, for the whole year with her father; a carpenter who went there to teach locals different techniques of crafting woods, and a mother who back then was a mother of three small kids, taking care of them. The year was 1964, and no-one there and then wasn't aware how would this event affect generations of their families that are yet to be born.

My grandparents were the best role models of how to treat their grandchildren. They had 5 kids and 14 grandchildren, and all of us were feeling loved and cared always the same. We listened to their stories, and were raised on their experiences. They were the biggest reason I was raised with the genuine sense for culture differences and love for sociology.

This drawing just pop up as a result of 2020 travel restrictions. As my love for visiting Africa grew, I could not find a good moment yet to fulfill a promise to myself and visit Conakry, a place of my mother's personal history. Instead I decided to draw. Sharing their experience on a piece of paper stained with pastel dust.

Sort:  

Stay with me ....I always with you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63