Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #126 'Bicycle Rider'

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The name of this art photograph is: 'Bicycle Rider'

This photograph makes me think of several things. The first one that comes to mind is Little Prince flying high in the sky. The old pilot scarf, the wings and heaps of books somehow lead in that direction. I believe it might be the main inspiration for the author who installed it. The wall full of books creates the background texture and makes this image stand out. If not there, it would be a high key composition with a completely different meaning.

The old black and white Italian film "The Bicycle Thieves" by Vittorio De Sica also comes to mind, and in the end, it's the New Wave films from the sixties. The long lyrical sequences of bike riding through the streets, full of "love is in the air" vibe and accompanied by feely music, mostly shot in full sun shining through the leaves. Have you ever watched these?

The stylization probably evokes all those memories. The magic of black and white photography is unavoidable. The whites are strong and make the rider stand out from the darker background. The giant wall of books against the bike, not so much in the form as in tonality, help bring the rider and the bike forward. Do you see the wing making the difference when rider's head actually becomes the background? The greys are visible, versatile and very needed, while the blacks are deep and predominantly only in the bottom.

Did you notice the white trail after the white scarf of memories? It's my humble contribution. :)

Enjoy! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, don't make it all about business - bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!


• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

I tell you, man. You are a serious eye for photography. I'm so glad you're flying high on Steemit. Long may it last as you thoroughly deserve it, buddy. Plus I gotta cheek out that movie "The Bicycle Thieves". :)

Hi @ezzy How are you, my friend. tried to contact you on Discord the other day. Check it out, please.
OH, yes, it is a very cool film. Has that old vibe and sadness but definitely a movie to see on a cold December night, knowing you re alright. Thank you for your kind words. When I arrived, you were my inspiration. So guys...read this guy! :)

Sorry, I wasn't aware you had attempted to contact me on Discord. I'll check literally right now. Bless you, @velimir. :)

Seems like some good spirit is flying from a worse community.. I remember one quotes from our regional writer that the good spirit will never come from the darker side of society.. when look at this picture it seem that may happen sometimes.. thanks for sharing with us @velimir

Very interesting approach, indeed. I like that thought very much! The more I think over it, the more interesting it becomes. Thank you!

The photograph was taken at the LX Factory, in Lisbon, during SteemFest2, right?

Yes, it was, as you very well remember because you were standing beside me! :D hahaha
So... this was the best angle. I remember that you asked me about it ;)

Surreal and ephemeral, like effortless travel through a dream. Your considerate analysis is as enjoyable as the picture. Thank you.

Oh... today you guys all have such inspiring thoughts! Thank you for this one! How poetic. Effortless trave through a dream... wow!

You are a wellspring of inspiration. Stay you.

Wow, you couldn't have used better words to describe this amazing photo. It kind of reminds of the renaissance because of the style you used for this potograph, it seems really antique. I love it :D

Thanks foe taking your time to explain what is happening in the pic. With all the simple technology tools, photographers can change a colorful picture into a black and white concept with one press of a button. Although the editing part might sound super easy, taking the perfect photo is a challenge. Anybody can pick up a camera and take a picture, but it takes a skillfull photographer like @velimir to take a magnificent photograph and use composition, exposure, and aperture as an advantage. You are doing a great job friend .

Man, you make me blush... lol
Thank you, I'm trying, doing what I know, best I can.
Cheers!

I am a fan of black and white images and when properly interpreted, i fall in love.
Sometimes a picture can look way better without its vivid colors. Black and White photography brings out a different kind of vibe and mood in a picture. This concept is hard to explain but very easy to see. I dont know how @velimir does it, but its cool. If one were to compare the original picture to a black & white version, the results would be stunning.

This one was actually taken black and white. I don't have a colour version. :)

Another great post. This photo represent for me that we all should aspire for greatness :)

Thank you, that's really beautiful thing to say!

It's really a photograph that has taken me to another artistic galaxy. I love it, you have a good eye for photography, keep capturing photos like this, give a unique sensation to the viewer when watching them.

My greatest pleasure is when I read that people appreciate it! :)
Thank you!

Wow. You are a story teller indeed. I love them.
I agree with you that the magic of white and black photography is unavoidable. In black and white there are more colors than color photography, because you are not blocked by any colors so you can use your experiences, your knowledge, and your fantasy, to put colors into black and white.
Thank you once again for the description. I can relate.

Very true that. This is exactly what black and white gifts one with. Imagination possibilities!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79