Original Art Photography Series by @velimir #129 'An old man'

in #art6 years ago

The name of this art photograph is: 'An old man'

A friend of mine and I were going to rent some equipment the other day and ventured into this neighbourhood. He went on a quick errand that he had completely forgotten about, and I decided to wait for a few minutes in the sun. Soon after he left, I noticed the old man on the balcony. He was standing there and cleaning his shoes in that late afternoon low sun casting shadows. For a minute, I only observed and felt strange for the old man. Honestly, I 'm not sure why. It was something about him patiently and minutely scrubbing one of his shoes for some time. As soon as I figured out there was a set of towels underneath his balcony, I knew it was going to be an interesting photograph.

I would describe it as a realism photography with a touch of mild fantasy colour creating a soft juxtaposing underline. When I imagine it in black and white and the look at it again, I appreciate the magic these colours add. Notice that there are many desaturated colours working together. It wouldn't be so harmonious if they were more saturated. They would clash with each other, instead.

Soft focus plays a very important part in creating the overall atmosphere, together with the tree's shadow which is essentially responsible for the mood.

Long after I took the picture, the old man stayed there, continuing his work as if it was the most important thing in the world.

A lesson well learned.

Enjoy! :)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, don't make it all about business - bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!


• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Interesting :)

Wow. This is great @velimir, i understand what you mean by when you imagine it in black and white. This colour is just the best. A lot is happening with the colours on the walls and those clothes. They are sure magic colours. Great photography.
As we get older, we tend to believe the cliché "You can't teach an old dog new tricks" because we've seen many examples proving it to be somewhat accurate. The old man sure taught a lesson. Anything you are doing do it well.
That is why it is important to live a life of continuous learning, just like you learnt it was good to leave some pics the way it is in the picture above and not black and white. Haha. If you want to be good at learning new things, then you must constantly learn new things. All the old people I know who are vibrant and energetic are always striving to learn new things and it is because they continue to learn that their brains stay sharp. Thank you so much. Still a very loyal fan of your shots.

"Anything you are doing do it well." Exactly, my friend!
Thought it does come across without explanation and I was right in your case!
You wrote it all by yourself!!!

Exactly. Have good one

I appreciate this photo. The way the colors are framed in natural rectangles and railings is excellent. Great job!

I'm starting to think that it'd be more apt to call you an, "atmospherist" than a "photographer!" Love this series of photos. Takes me back to when I had a Polaroid with instant development.

Hahahaha :D I loved the old polaroids. We lost so much, man... Gained something else, but lost so much, really. Do you know polariod films are still made today in this very specialized factory? You can actually order them for your old camera ;) That is what i call spirit!

The old man has something of a japanese mentality. Always strive for perfection, even with the most simplest things.

I appreciate your photo because it reminds me of the artwork of Andy Warhol who created art out of the mundane. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and even a unexpected visit to a new neighborhood can create a opportunity for art if you look at it right, beholding the light and symbolic meaning the moment might hold.

I cannot agree with you more. An awesome observation, indeed. Thank you!

I have only one thing to say @velimir

"Abandoned motherhood"

Thanks for remembering us the responsibilities of everyone as a son/daughter.. One day everyone becomes the parents of their kid. You never expect more than that you given to your parents..

Ha! This is what it told you? So interesting... so so interesting! :)

To me its the mildness of sunlight filtering through the trees, casting a mellow spell in the scene.. The combo of beige and purple on top right is amazing...

yep these I also had in mind! :)

Seems our thought coincide a lot...lol

Also the colors of clothing make the picture interesting

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97