Somewhere in the middle

in #art6 years ago (edited)


I’ve been improving my skills with the needle over these last two days. The design was something that I decided to freehand after learning a few basic techniques. It’s not perfect and I prefer it that way. I’ve also noticed that when I’m getting to learn a new craft, I like to jump into it somewhere in the middle. I pick things up fairly quickly and I know myself well enough to understand that I need a lot of stimulation to stay interested, which explains why I set the toughness bar a little higher. 

Not gonna lie, working with tulle is a pain in the ass. There were some stitches that I couldn’t use because the strings of thread would clearly show through. I wanted to keep the design as clean as possible so there were several tests that I had to do. I also had to find a balance with the amount of strength I was using and slack I was giving. If I pulled too hard then awkward gaps would appear and then I’d accidentally make holes, leading me to check off another techniques that I couldn’t use on tulle.

Here’s a snapshot of my first practice run before I got serious about internally mapping a design. I was brainlessly working while keeping an open ear to the little humans running around the house. Multitasking at it’s greatest?


I plan on tucking these precious articles of fabric away to to map my progress, similar to how I track my growth in other areas of art. Maybe I should start putting dates on them.

Thanks for stopping by! 🦊

Sort:  

insane !!!
childhood right in my eyes.
those color threads, summer vacation fills.
thank you for sharing :)

You received a 38.46% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @gamercreed!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
guaranteed positive ROI (15%)
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 20000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

I am truly inspired by how beautiful this work is, thank you for sharing your passions! You make the world a better place (:

Thanks for appreciating my work @alexsandra!

Wow, those are some beautiful flowers!

And definitely date your art. it will fun to line things up someday in chronological order and show us your evolution.

Thanks @drwatson! I have to hunt down my tape so I can write little sticker dates. A switch has already been flipped and my current project is soooo much better. Can’t wait to share it, maybe I’ll do a lapse video.

Very very cool. Its not something I really know much about, but very impressive that you have yet another on top your already long list of cool creative outlets.

Oh trust me, I still don’t know what I’m doing but I know it’s a skill that will become useful in the future. :D Unlike some of my other work I can produce instant results and it’s oddly therapeutic. I can see why needlework is so popular.

SO friggin cool!!

D’awww... you think? 😊 Next time you’re at @caffetto I’ll bring all my stuff.

Wow, I'm so impressed. Looks masterful to me! I'd buy that off of Etsy XD

Would you really!? You’re so sweet! One day....I’ll open up my shop again. I’m determined!

It's a nice job, do you like to make clothes? Because if so you have talent :D

I want to get better at it! I’ve made outfits without a guide and I’ve learned that I need to do more homework. Especially if I want to make clothing for others.

Embroidery is such a pleasant activity. I love the multicolored threads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63